Brian Wilson was re-elected East Baton Rouge Parish tax assessor without opposition when qualifying for the office ended Thursday.

East Baton Rouge Clerk of Court Doug Welborn also gained another four-year term after drawing no opposition in the fall elections.

“I’m very thankful and blessed to continue to serve the people of East Baton Rouge parish,” Assessor Wilson said. “Obviously, my main focus is and always will be to assess property fairly and equitably.

“At the same time, I will always seek ways to make improvements to the office,  especially advancements in computer technology. But above all,  I will continue to be accessible to the people of this parish and that will never change,” Wilson said.

“This is such a great honor to be in office and be representing all of you,’’ said Clerk of Court Welborn, who was holding 4-month-old grandson Gabe Malone.

Welborn just moments earlier learned he had been re-elected without opposition to the post he has held since 1991.

“The brightest part of our future is the ability to work together. That’s what government’s supposed to do,’’ Welborn said.   

Other public officials in area parishes elected without opposition included:

ASCENSION PARISH: Clerk of Court Kermit “Hart” Bourque, 73, was re-elected to another four-term Thursday as he was unopposed in the Oct. 22 primary.

Bourque, who has been clerk since 1963 when he was 26, said he will be starting his 48th year in office next year under his new term.

“I just think people understand we’re doing a good job for them, and they appreciate it,” Bourque said.

He credited the hard work of his staff for being opposed only three times in elections during his career.

Coroner John F. Fraiche, a Democrat, was re-elected without opposition.

ASSUMPTION PARISH: Clerk of Court Darlene Landry was re-elected to another four-year term after being unopposed in the Oct. 22 primary.

Others re-elected Thursday are Assessor Wayne “Cat” Blanchard and Coroner Celeste Chaudoir.

All are Democrats.

EAST FELICIANA PARISH: Clerk of Court David Dart, 32, won his second term in office without opposition after winning four years ago against three opponents.

“I am humbled by the confidence that our parish has in me, and I am excited to have the opportunity to serve as East Feliciana Parish clerk of court for four more years,” Dart said.

Dr. Michael DeJohn won re-election as coroner of East Feliciana Parish.

IBERVILLE PARISH: Dr. James E. Grace, a Republican, was elected parish coroner without opposition.

LIVINGSTON PARISH: Clerk of Court Tom Sullivan and Coroner Ron Coe are unopposed.

Sullivan, a Republican, will be serving his fourth term.

He said his main goal in the coming term is getting a new courthouse built for the parish.

Coe will be serving his third term as coroner.

Coe said he’s pleased that his office has become involved in getting medications from the deceased to an organization that properly provides those medications to the needy.

Also, Coe said he is happy to have gotten the Coroner’s Office involved in promoting organ donation.

POINTE COUPEE PARISH: Sheriff Beauregard “Bud” Torres, a Democrat, was elected without opposition to a second four-year term.

Clerk of Court Lanell Swindler Landry, a Democrat; Assessor James “Jimmy” Laurent Jr., No Party; and Coroner Harry J. Kellerman, No Party, all were re-elected without opposition.

ST. JAMES PARISH: Assessor Glenn Waguespack was re-elected Thursday to another four-year term after he was not opposed in the Oct. 22 primary.

Others re-elected Thursday without opposition were Clerk of Court Edmond E. Kinler Jr. and Coroner Randall C. Poche. All are Democrats.

TANGIPAHOA PARISH: Clerk of Court Julian Dufreche was elected without opposition to another four-year term.

“We are in the service business, and the real challenge for those of us in the Clerk’s office is to keep up with technology,” Dufreche said.

“The goal there is to do that so we can offer the best possible service to our citizens. It’s expensive to do, but it’s what people expect, so we are going to do our best to continue to improve that,” he said.

Tangipahoa Parish Coroner “Rick” Foster was elected to another four-year term after no other candidates qualified to run for parish coroner.

WEST BATON ROUGE PARISH: Clerk of Court Mark Graffeo and Assessor Barney M. “Frog” Altazan, both Democratic incumbents, won re-election unopposed.

WEST FELICIANA PARISH: Sheriff J. Austin Daniel won re-election to a fourth term when qualifying ended. “It’s a good feeling, and I appreciate the show of confidence the people gave me. I just want to live up to the people’s expectations,” Daniel said.

Dr. Chaillie Daniel won re-election as coroner of West Feliciana Parish.