Girls from Zachary High School participated in a competitive game of flag football in the name of kindness April 14 in an effort to raise money for FAZE — Foundation Assisting Zachary Education — and the senior fund, which helps pay for senior activities and scholarships.

The Z squad included members of the Bronco Belles and sported blue homemade jerseys, while the B Squad featured ZHS cheerleaders, who wore hand-painted pink jerseys. Athletes and students from various sports and clubs participated by playing on the teams as well.

Coached by members of the ZHS basketball, football and soccer teams, the game ended in a 14-14 tie. Boys helped keep spirits up by cheering for the squads and getting spectators involved.

The B Squad scored the first two touchdowns before halftime, while the Z Squad kept the game interesting by scoring their first touchdown before the break and the other in the final moments before the game ended.

During time outs, acts of kindness performed throughout the school year that were part of the district-wide kindness initiative, Zachary Connected, were acknowledged by Acts of Kindness emcee Tony Collins, who read students’ names aloud.

Zachary Connected was launched after hearing about Rachel’s Challenge and the powerful story of 17-year-old Rachel Scott, the first student killed in the Columbine High shootings in 1999.

Scott’s dedication to kindness and compassion toward others led her family to found Rachel’s Challenge.

The Acts of Kindness powderpuff game raised $515.

The B Squad featured players Kristina Brooks, Ryleigh Carr, Taylee Corken, Bailey Cranford, Kayla Davis, Peyton Delapasse, Karli Hall, Caitlin and Catherine Halphen, Cheyenne Harvin, Callie Howell, Logan Guilbeau, Victoria Jones, Maddie Neal, Morgan Pearce, Jaela Peterson, Skylar Shaw, McKenzie Sullivan, Shelby Waddell and Ali and Cami White.

Coaches for the B Squad were P.J. Cannon, Douglas Coleman, Kellton Holiday, Trevor Jackson, Charles Peroya and Lindsey Scott.

The Z Squad players were Bailey Boudreaux, Erika Collins, Jordyn Celestin, Katlyn Daigle, Raquel Jiles, Jasmine Kinchen, Lauren Lane, Maya Lawrence, L’Nyka Martin, Jacelyn Rasti, Kennedi Saari, Charlyse Scott, Myiah Smothers, Endonezia Spears, Meagan Thierry, Mahogany Thomas and Mekiah Wells.

Coaches included Peter Armwood, C.J. Bell, Tim Carr, Chris Carrier Jr., Keidrick Haynes, Caesar Moore, Avery Neal and Lester Perkins.

Cheerleaders for both teams were Herbert Breaux, Latrell Hunter, Christian Lawless, Roy McKnight, Mike Morris and Ronald Turner with Marjon McClinton as “hype man.”