Zachary FFA team earns emblems from competition _lowres

Advocate photo by OLIVIA McCLURE -- Melissa Brumbaugh, far left, sponsor of Zachary High School’s Future Farmers of America club, and students Hannah Kimbrell, Phillip Howell, Samantha Bankston and Tucker Ryan, from left, were recognized at the December Zachary School Board meeting for their team participation in the recent National FFA Floriculture Career Development Event in Kentucky.

Zachary High School FFA members were recently honored by the Zachary School Board for their efforts at an October career development event.

Student members of the Zachary Future Farmers of America chapter were one of 43 teams to participate in the National FFA Floriculture Career Development Event held in October in conjunction with the 88th National FFA Convention & Expo in Louisville, Kentucky.

The team was led by FFA adviser and Zachary High School agriscience teacher Melissa Brumbaugh, who was awarded a silver emblem.

During the Floriculture event, FFA members test their knowledge and skills in the production and retailing of flowers, plants and foliage.

Brumbaugh said students must complete a general knowledge exam on the floriculture industry, identify plant materials, demonstrate problem-solving and decision-making skills, employment and customer service skills, technical floral skills and the ability to work as a team.

Zachary High’s Samantha Bankston and Tucker Ryan received bronze emblems for their efforts, and Phillipe Howell and Hannah Kimbrell each received a silver emblem.

The team competed at the local and state levels, earning the privilege of representing Louisiana at the National FFA Convention.

“The Floriculture CDE is one of many educational activities at the national convention that FFA members can apply the knowledge they gain in the classroom toward real-life situations,” Brumbaugh said.

The Zachary students competed for individual awards along with 168 other participants and placed 26th out of 43 teams at the event. They were honored Dec. 15 by the Zachary School Board.