Zachary’s business and civic community gathered Oct. 19 to honor the individuals, businesses and organizations who provide the leadership and economic development that fuels the City of Zachary’s success.

Taylor Watts, executive director of the Zachary Chamber of Commerce, said nine categories were highlighted during the annual Chamber Awards Banquet held this year at St. John the Baptist Catholic Church.

Watts is new in her role at the chamber but acknowledged excitement in the amount of growth the group has seen since last year’s awards. The chamber gained 73 new memberships. Because of the new growth, Watts expanded the awards process to include four new categories and one redefined category. This year’s new awards are Woman in Business, Minority Enterprise of the Year, Business Lifetime Achievement and Young Professional of the Year. The Emerging Business of the Year Award was renamed, and its specifications redefined.

Mark Anderson was honored as the 2017 outgoing chamber president, and the closing remarks were given by Ryan Talbot, the 2018 board president.

The full list of honorees are Woman in Business, Laura O’Brien, Fitness Design for Women; Small Business of the Year, Pit Stop Auto Shop; Ambassador of the Year, Jennifer Boyd; Minority Enterprise of the Year, Pamela Turner, Lee’s Towing; Business Lifetime Achievement Award, Bank of Zachary; Emerging Business of the Year, Blush Orthodontics; Business of the Year, Americana Development; Rotary City of the Year, Francis Neziyana; and Young Professional of the Year, Benjamin Cavin, Landmark Bank.