The state Department of Education will hold eight information sessions statewide on new criminal background checks for employees of licensed child care centers.
The changes stem from a 2014 federal law and a 2017 state law.
They are set to take effect on March 1.
State officials said Wednesday they expect to get an one-year extension in their overhaul of…
Information sessions will begin on Sept. 1 in Baton Rouge.
Others are planned for Shreveport, Monroe, Lafayette, Alexandria and New Orleans, with a final meeting in Baton Rouge on Oct. 6.
A webinar is also scheduled for Sept. 6 at 11:30 a.m.
The changes are putting the state Department of Education in charge of the checks.
Previously individual directors of child care centers and Head Start leaders were responsible for their workers undergoing reviews.
The searches will include fingerprint checks with the FBI and reviews with the National Sex Offender Registry, Louisiana Sex Offender Registry and the Louisiana Child Abuse and Neglect Registry.
Each application will cost $88-$93, which has caused some grumbling from child care workers.
At least 16,000 employees of child care centers will be covered.
Louisiana needs a new state law to ensure that public school teachers undergo thorough crimi…
A 2014 federal law strengthened the background checks.
A 2017 measure sponsored by state Rep. Alan Seabaugh, R-Shreveport, put the state Department of Education in charge of the oversight.
Check back with The Advocate for more details.