The late famed civil rights leader Rev. Avery Alexander, Commissioner of Administration Jay Dardenne, retired Jefferson Parish Sheriff Newell Normand and Advocate political columnist James Gill headline this year’s inductees to the Louisiana Political Hall of Fame.

The Hall of Fame is a museum in Winnfield, a small north Louisiana town that was the childhood home of Govs. Huey Long, Earl K. Long and O.K. Allen. The Class of 2018 will be inducted into the Hall of Fame during a banquet March 10 at the National World War II Museum in New Orleans.

The Class of 2018 also includes Quentin Dastugue, a former state representative from Old Jefferson who sponsored creation of a fund for highway repairs and expansion; former state Rep. Charles Lancaster Jr., of Metairie, who was instrumental in developing the Earhart Expressway, West Esplanade Avenue and Lafreniere Park; the late Alton Ochsner Sr., whose clinic was one of the first to document the link between smoking and cancer, and who also was a Republican Party activist; U.S. House Majority Whip Steve Scalise, the Jefferson Republican who sponsored the bill that directs any fine revenue from the BP Deepwater Horizon oil disaster to coastal restoration; the late Henry Braden III, a civil rights leader who was chief of staff at Flint-Goodridge Hospital in New Orleans; and Braden's late son, former state Sen. Hank Braden, a New Orleans political leader who helped many minority candidates with their campaigns