Attorney General Jeff Landry, joined by elected officials, law enforement and fire department personnel, speaks during a press conference to announce a voucher program for distrubuting Nalaxone, a prescription drug that blocks the effects of opioids, to emergency personnel across the state Monday, May 15, 2017, at the Lafayette Parish Sheriff's Office Public Safety Complex in Lafayette, La.

Attorney General Jeff Landry is urging a federal appeals court to reverse an order that is preventing the implementation of President Donald Trump's executive order regulating so-called "sanctuary cities," arguing that such immigrant-friendly jurisdictions "undermine the rule of law and deprive law enforcement of the tools necessary to enforce the law effectively."

"We have seen too many crimes occur against our own State’s citizens due to sanctuary city policies; which is why I have been actively fighting back against these policies since taking office," Landry, a Republican, said in a news release announcing that he had joined 10 other attorneys general in filing a friend-of-the-court brief to the 9th U.S. Court of Appeals.

Trump signed the executive order on Jan. 25 to make local jurisdictions that "willfully refuse" to comply with federal immigration laws ineligible for most federal grants.

Two cities and a county in California challenged the order before it took effect. A lower court later sided with them in blocking the order, prompting the federal appeal.

"As I have said before, the President and Congress are given the power to enforce the President’s Executive Order while still being considerate of State’s rights," Landry said. "This issue is a common sense issue, aimed strictly at protecting our citizens."

In their brief, the attorneys general argue that "sanctuary jurisdictions can cause harm to neighboring States by making it easier for people who are not lawfully in this country and have committed civil or criminal offenses to evade law enforcement and travel out-of-state."

Other states joining Louisiana on the brief include West Virginia, Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Kansas, Nevada, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Carolina and Texas.

Follow Elizabeth Crisp on Twitter, @elizabethcrisp.