br.electionfeature.121116 HS 004

Voters cast their votes in the runoff election, Saturday, December 10, 2016, at the Cenikor Foundation in Baton Rouge, La.

Early voting for the Oct. 14 election began Saturday and ends Oct. 7. The ballots include the state treasurer's race, three constitutional amendments, and the District 2 seat on the Public Service Commission. Also, there are a number of propositions and special races on local ballots.


Click here to get a personalized ballot | More voting information from the Secretary of State's Office


Constitutional Amendment No. 1

Exempts from property taxes materials and other property delivered to a construction site to be made part of a building or other construction.

Constitutional Amendment No. 2

Exempts from property tax the total assessed value of the homestead of an unmarried surviving spouse of a person who died while performing their duties as an emergency medical responder, technician, paramedic, volunteer firefighter, or a law enforcement or fire protection officer.

Constitutional Amendment No. 3

Dedicates any new tax on gasoline, diesel and special fuels into the Construction Subfund, which shall be used only for project delivery, construction, and maintenance of transportation and capital transit infrastructure projects and not for funding for the payment of employee wages and related benefits or employee retirement benefits.

[Our Views: We recommend 'no' on 2 of 3 constitutional amendments on Louisiana ballots Oct. 10]

State Treasurer

Angele Davis, R

Derrick Edwards, D

Terry Hughes, R

Joseph D. Little, L

Neil Riser, R

John Schroder, R

[More info: Treasurer candidates debate, offer insight into their views.]


Public Service Commission, District 2

(East Baton Rouge, East Feliciana, Iberia, Iberville, Lafayette, Lafourche, Livingston, Pointe Coupee, St. Martin, St. Mary, Terrebonne, West Baton Rouge and West Feliciana parishes)

Damon J. Baldone, R

Craig C. Greene, R

Lenar Whitney, R

[More infoTwo of three PSC candidates spell out views]

State Representative, District 58

(Ascension, Iberville and St. James parishes)

Miguel D. Aubert, D

Ken Brass, D

Adrienne Ricard Conish, D

Alsie Dunbar, D

District Judge, 18th Judicial District, 4-A

(Pointe Coupee and West Baton Rouge parishes)

Lonny Guidroz, D

Kevin Kimball, D

Steve Marionneaux, D

Ascension Parish

Gonzales sales tax proposition

Half-cent sales tax generating $3.5 million a year beginning Jan. 1, 2018, and continuing in perpetuity, and dedicated for (i) maintaining and improving fire and police protection, and (ii) construction, operation and maintenance of (a) a new Civic Center to be used in times of emergency and disaster recovery, and (b) a Community Outreach Building to host activities for youth. Any excess revenue would be dedicated to enhancing public safety, including but not limited to capital improvements.

Assumption Parish

Parishwide Law Enforcement District proposition

To levy a 15-year, 4.25-mill property tax expected to generate $710,000 a year for the Assumption Parish Sheriff's Office.

Parishwide Council on Aging proposition

To renew the 10-year, 1-mill property tax generating $167,000 a year for programs for the elderly and the disabled through the Assumption Council on Aging Inc.

Parishwide La. Cooperative Extension proposition

To renew the 10-year, 1-mill property tax generating $167,000 a year for the facility housing the Louisiana Cooperative Extension Service, or any successor, and an arena.

Parishwide Library proposition

To renew the 10-year, 2-mill property tax generating $334,000 a year for library facilities, equipment and furnishings.

Parishwide Public Buildings proposition

To renew the 10-year, 1-mill property tax generating $167,000 a year for public buildings and facilities, including the necessary equipment and furnishings.

Consolidated Road Lighting District 1

To renew the 10-year, 10-mill property tax generating $66,000 a year.

Northwest Highway 70 Gravity Drainage District 9

To renew the 10-year, annual $50 parcel fee generating $5,500 a year for levees, levee drainage, flood protection and hurricane flood protection.

Recreation District 1 proposition

To renew the 10-year, 3-mill property tax generating $110,000 a year for recreation facilities.

Lower Belle River Gravity Drainage District 12

To renew the 10-year, annual $25 parcel fee generating $1,750 a year for levees, levee drainage, flood protection and hurricane flood protection.

East Baton Rouge Parish

Baton Rouge City Judge, District 2E

Whitney Higginbotham Greene, R

Chris Hester, R

Carson Marcantel, R

Johnell Matthews, D

Janice Miller, D

Judy Moore Vendetto, R

East Baton Rouge School Board, District 7

Brian Adams, D

Belinda Creel Davis, D

Michael Gaudet, R

South Burbank Crime Prevention and Development District

To renew the four-year, annual parcel fees of $100 on residential or commercial structures and $25 for each unit in a condominium, residential or commercial structure with four or more units. The fees generate $192,855 a year for increased law enforcement or contracted security personnel, a crime-free housing program, and for other purposes.

East Feliciana Parish

Parishwide Library proposition

To renew the 10-year, 2.5-mill property tax generating $365,560 a year for the Audubon Regional Library and its branches.

Livingston Parish

Denham Springs City Council member

Amber Dugas, R

Scott Kimble, R

Raphineas "Ray" Riley, D

Brian Edward Ross, R

Laura Schmitt Smith, R

Keith Stark, R

Parishwide School Board proposition

To renew the 10-year, 7.18-mill property tax generating $3.55 million a year to maintain and operate public schools.

St. James Parish

Clerk of Court

Kristina Harrison, D

Shane M. LeBlanc, D

Tangipahoa Parish

Clerk of Court

Gary Stanga, D

Arden Wells, R

Justice of the Peace, Ward 2

Vickie Yarborough Blades, R

Juandalynn Brumfield, D

Margie Simmons, D