BR.wildvotingmachines.110320 0047 bf.jpg

Aaron Johnson stacks boxed sneeze shields atop the VOTE HERE signs as voting machines are sorted for delivery from the BR storage warehouse for the Tuesday national and local general elections Monday November 2, 2020, in Baton Rouge, La.

Qualifying began Wednesday and ended Friday for the Oct. 9 open primary. The following races are on the ballot in the Baton Rouge area.

Party abbreviations: D-Democrat, R-Republican, I-Independent; L-Libertarian; NP-No Party.


Justice of the Peace 3rd Justice Court

Lynelle Johnson, R

Kim Landry, R

J. Russell-Roddy, NP

East Baton Rouge

Family Court Judge, Section 1, Division B

Erika Green, D

Natalie Tellis Robertson, D

Baton Rouge City Judge, ES 2A

Whitney Higginbotham Greene, NP

Colette Greggs, D

Terrel "TK" Kent, D

Carson Marcantel, R

Central School Board, District 4

Phil Graham, R

Kim Powers, R

The scoop on state politics in your inbox

Get the Louisiana politics insider details once a week from us. Sign up today.

East Feliciana

Justice of the Peace, District 3

Tommie King, D


White Castle Alderman

Mervin Allen Jr., D


Killian Alderman

Kenny Bayhi, I

Pointe Coupee


Donald W. Doucet, R

Justice of the Peace District 6

Cole Peers, I

Justice of the Peace District 7

Donna Daisy Hammond, D


Tickfaw Council Member

Michael J. Lemay, D