Walker High School girls basketball coach Korey Arnold was thrilled to net a pivotal District 4-5A road win over Scotlandville on Tuesday night.

The 48-32 victory over the Hornets also was the 300th career win for Arnold, in his sixth season at Walker.

“It is nice to have 300 wins, but all the credit has to go all the girls I've coached,” Arnold said. “Any success I have is a byproduct of the work they do. They are the ones who put in the work and play the games. I am a recipient of success they make possible.”

Walker is 24-5 overall and 3-0 going into a Friday showdown at 4-5A rival Zachary. Arnold’s record of 300-119 includes a record of 149-53 at Walker. He previously coached at Sam Houston.

Another milestone

Joe Spencer moved up to No. 2 on the all-time boys basketball wins list at University High with a win over Dunham earlier this month.

Spencer now has 224 wins at UHS, passing Ari Fisher, who coached the Cubs to 221 wins between 1997-2008. Gerald Furr is UHS’ leader with 353 wins between 1969-1992. Spencer’s winning percentage of 70.1 is the school’s best.

Hall of Fame games set

Madison Prep has announced its Hall of Fame Boys Basketball Classic schedule for Feb. 10 at Family Christian.

Games begin at 11:30 a.m. with FCA playing Amite. Madison Prep meets East Ascension in the finale at 8:30 p.m.

The games in between are Hamilton Christian vs. White Castle at 1 p.m., Southern Lab vs. Episcopal at 2:30 p.m., Walker vs. Westgate at 4 p.m., Plaquemine vs. Dunham at 5:30 p.m. and Jehovah-Jireh vs. Port Allen at 7 p.m.

LHSCA All-Stars

Twelve area players were selected to either the girls/boys LHSCA All-Star basketball teams. The East-West games are March 17 at Bossier Parish Community College.

Albany’s Natalie Kelly, Ascension Christian’s Jamilyn Robinson, Episcopal’s Tera Snell, Holden's Kaylee Hughes and Walker's Breanna Zeringue make up the East girls squad.

The East boys squad includes Kobe Julien and Josh Leblanc of Madison Prep, Tyrece Radford of McKinley, Ja’Vonte Smart of McKinley, Trent Schiller of St. Michael, Jalen Perkins of Walker and Eric Reed of University. Former Christian Life coach Stephen Dale of St. Paul’s is the East assistant coach.

Coaches honored

Local coaches swept the honors in swimming and cross country when the LHSCA announced its 2017 Coach of the Year winners.

Episcopal's Claney Duplechin (boys) and St. Joseph’s Academy’s Mark LaHaye (girls) were the cross country winners based on 2016-17 competition. Catholic’s Doug Logsdon (boys) and SJA’s Becca Gilbert (girls) were the swimming winners.

University’s Burke Broussard (boys golf), Brusly's Trent Ellis (girls track), West Feliciana’s Preston King (boys track), Baton Rouge High's Kevin Nee (boys gymnastics) and St. Michael's Johnny Little (girls tennis) were the local coaches honored.

Follow Robin Fambrough on Twitter, @FambroughAdv.