The top individual honorees on the Louisiana Sports Writers Association’s Class 1A All-State basketball teams turned in senior seasons to remember.

Led by Outstanding Player Maria Bienvenu, St. Mary’s-Natchitoches spoiled perfection en route to the Division IV girls select championship. Outstanding Player Chanse Robinson willed Lincoln Prep to a Class 1A boys runner-up finish in earning the top boys award.

Bienvenu averaged 18.1 points, 8.6 rebounds and 2.2 assists. Class 1A boys Coach of the Year Tom Collins made it a clean sweep for St. Mary's. The longtime Atlanta boys coach led his team to a win over undefeated Ouachita Christian in the Division IV girls final. Collins also coached the St. Mary’s boys to the semifinals.

Robinson is a returning all-stater and no stranger to these accolades. The University of Buffalo signee averaged 21.3 points, 10.7 rebounds and 5.1 assists for the former Grambling Lab.

Mark Caldwell was named the Class 1A boys Coach of the Year after directing Grand Lake to a semifinal appearance.

In addition to Bienvenu, the girls first team included Emery Wertz of Division IV runner-up Ouachita Christian, Frandreka Keller of Class 1A champion North Central, Marissa Tell of Haynesville and Tasionna McDowell of Class 1A runner-up Delhi.

The second team featured Kaci Chairs of Metairie Park Country Day, Vici Woods of Elton, Yani Johnson of Central Catholic, Pashonay Johnson of St. Frederick and Dedreka Wilson of Easter Iberville.

Robinson was joined on the boys first team by Derrick Tezeno of Class 1A winner North Central, Byron Joshua of Division IV winner Crescent City, D’Marcus Hall of Division IV runner-up Calvary Baptist and Thomas Howell of St. Mary’s.

Comprising the second team were Keon Coleman of Opelousas Catholic, Michael Thomas of Hamilton Christian, Nikembe Johnson of North Central, Justin Ibieta of Metairie Park Country Day and Treshaun Wiggins of Tensas.



First team

Name Player Ht. Cl. Avg.

D’Marcus Hall Calvary Baptist 6-3 Sr. 20.3

Chanse Robinson Lincoln Prep 6-0 Sr. 21.3

Thomas Howell St. Mary’s 6-7 Sr. 27.1

Derrick Tezano North Central 6-4 Jr. 24.0

Byron Joshua Crescent City 6-2 Sr. 24.7

Second team

Name Player Ht. Cl. Avg.

Treshaun Wiggins Tensas 6-5 Sr. 14.9

Keon Coleman Opelousas Catholic 6-4 Jr. 26.0

Nikembe Johnson North Central 6-4 Sr. 17.0

Michael Thomas Hamilton Christian 6-0 Sr. 16.8

Justin Ibieta Country Day 6-5 Sr. 19.9

Outstanding player: Chanse Robinson, Lincoln Prep

Coach of the Year: Mark Caldwell, Grand Lake

Honorable mention: Luke McCardle, Grand Lake; Tyler Smith, Central Catholic; Demondrick Blackburn, Central Catholic; Travyn Guilbeau, Centerville; Frederick Payne, Lincoln Prep; LaDarrian Washington, Delhi; Tra’Veon Anderson, Oak Grove; Bud Holloway, Oak Grove; Labree Williams, Calvary Baptist; Jayshun Miller, Homer; Quatarious Jones, Delhi; Kael Delcambre, Grand Lake; Demond Brown Jr., Southern Lab; DJ Lewis, Central Catholic; Keyon Giroir, White Castle; Taylor Blanchard, Central Catholic; Jordin Farrell, Crescent City.


First team

Name Player Ht. Cl. Avg.

Emery Wertz Ouachita Christian 5-10 Jr. 14.0

Tasionna McDowell Delhi 6-1 Sr. 18.0

Marissa Tell Haynesville 6-1 Jr. 20.0

Maria Bienvenu St. Mary’s 5-10 Sr. 18.1

Frandreka Keller  North Central  5-6  Sr.  18.9

Second team

Name Player Ht. Cl. Avg.

Pashonay Johnson St. Frederick 5-6 So. 30.3

Yani Johnson Central Catholic 6-2 Sr. 20.8

Dedreka Wilson East Iberville 5-10 Jr. 19.0

Vici Woods Elton 6-1 Jr. 16.9

Kaci Chairs Country Day 5-9 Sr. 28.0

Outstanding player: Maria Bienvenu, St. Mary's

Coach of the Year: Tom Collins, St. Mary's

Honorable mention: Summer Ceaser, Elton; LaBrittne Jenkins, Logansport; Emily Maggio, St. Mary’s; Josie Ogea, Grand Lake; Ariana Victor, Merryville; Avery Hopkins, Ouachita Christian; Jayden Ellerman, Ouachita Christian; Marin Barras, Highland Baptist; J’Nyria Kelly, St. John; Kelli Frith, Vermilion Catholic; Amari Butler, Franklin; Rontrinia Hawkins, Franklin; Makhai Fernandez, Franklin; Conleigh Laseter, Ouachita Christian; Ashanti May, Delhi; Alli Freeman, Cedar Creek; Sarah Adams, Cedar Creek; Kinsey Long, LaSalle; Ayleyah Winn, Northwood; Destini Briggs, Logansport; A’Myrie Foulcard, Hanson Memorial; Jai’breon Brown, White Castle; Maddie Mahfouz, Merryville; Diamond Nevills, North Central.