Video: LSU forward Jordan Mickey is looking forward to the Tigers' exhibition game against Morehouse _lowres

Advocate Staff Photo by HILARY SCHEINUK -- Jordan Mickey, joined by LSU basketball head coach Jonny Jones, announces to the media on Wednesday that he will stay at LSU rather than enter the NBA draft.

CHARLOTTE, N.C. — LSU forward Jordan Mickey was named a first-team preseason All-Southeastern Conference pick and the Tigers were chosen to finish fourth in the league race when media days came to a close Wednesday.

Mickey, a 6-foot-8 sophomore, was a second-team All-SEC pick as a freshman after he averaged 12.7 points, 7.9 rebounds and led the league with 3.1 blocked shots a game. He also ranked ninth nationally in blocks.

Mickey was joined on the first team Wednesday by Kentucky guard Aaron Harrison, Arkansas forward Bobby Portis, Ole Miss guard Jarvis Summers and Florida guard Michael Frazier II.

Harrison was named player of the year by a select media panel from the SEC and nation. Mickey and LSU teammate Jarell Martin, a sophomore, were among several others who received votes for player of the year.

Kentucky dominated the second team with four of the five picks: guard Andrew Harrison, Aaron Harrison’s twin, and forwards Willie Cauley-Stein, Karl-Anthony Towns and Alex Poythress. Georgia guard Charles Mann landed the other second-team spot.

Kentucky received all 20 first-place votes cast and finished with 280 points to easily finish ahead of Florida (258). Arkansas (226), LSU (223), Georgia (204), Ole Miss (168) and Missouri (123) rounded out the top half of the league.

The second half was made up of Auburn (113), Texas A&M (111), Alabama (109), Vanderbilt (89), South Carolina (86), Tennessee (75) and Mississippi State (35).


(first-place votes in parentheses)

1. Kentucky (20), 280 points

2. Florida, 258

3. Arkansas, 226

4. LSU, 223

5. Georgia, 204

6. Ole Miss, 168

7, Missouri, 123

8. Auburn, 113

9. Texas A&M, 111

10. Alabama, 109

11. Vanderbilt, 89

12. South Carolina, 86

13. Tennessee, 75

14. Mississippi State, 35


First team

G Michael Frazier II, Florida, Jr.

G Aaron Harrison, Kentucky, So.

F Jordan Mickey, LSU, So.

F Bobby Portis, Arkansas, So.

G Jarvis Summers, Ole Miss, Sr.

Second team

F Willie Cauley-Stein, Kentucky, Jr.

G Andrew Harrison, Kentucky, So.

G Charles Mann, Georgia, Jr.

F Alex Poythress, Kentucky, Jr.

F Karl-Anthony Towns, Kentucky, Fr.


Aaron Harrison, Kentucky

Follow Sheldon Mickles on Twitter @MicklesAdvocate.