LSU vs. Arkansas: Y.A Tittle's coldest game ever, a 3OT upset in 2007 and Trindon Holliday's 2006 heroics _lowres

Advocate staff photo by Richard Alan Hannon Shot 11/2406 00004731a LSU Tiger wide receiver Dwayne Bowe runs past University of Arkansas Razorbacks Jamar Love for a 92-yard touchdown return to put the Tigers up 30-19 in the fourth quarter in Little Rock Saturday.

LSU and Arkansas have had a long and storied rivalry that began way back in 1901, long before the Razorbacks joined the SEC in 1992. The Tigers lead the all-time series 37-21-2, 14-9 since Arkansas joined the SEC and 6-4 under Les Miles. In Baton Rouge, the Tigers have only lost twice to the Razorbacks, holding an 11-2-1 lead, Arkansas’ last win coming in 2007. LSU and Arkansas have still played more times in Shreveport than any other site. The teams met there 25 times from 1913-56 with LSU holding a 16-9 edge. Here’s a look back at five of the series’ most memorable games:

Jan. 1, 1947 – LSU 0, Arkansas 0: Hall of Famer quarterback Y.A. Tittle recalls this Cotton Bowl as the coldest game he ever played. Rain, sleet and snow leaves fans shivering in the stands in Dallas. LSU piles up a 271-54 edge in total offense and 15-1 edge in first downs but can’t manage to score in a game that becomes known as the Ice Bowl.

Jan. 1, 1966 – LSU 14, Arkansas 7: The Razorbacks are ranked No. 2 and riding a 22-game winning streak going into this Cotton Bowl, but a 7-3 Tigers team pull what ranks as one of the program’s all-time greatest upsets. Joe Labruzzo scores on a pair of 1-yard runs and Jerry Joseph’s fourth-quarter interception denies Arkansas a national title.

Nov. 29, 2002 – Arkansas 21, LSU 20: The year of the Bluegrass Miracle for the Tigers is also the year of the Markham Street Miracle for the Razorbacks. Trailing 20-14, Matt Jones hits Richard Smith for a 50-yard gain, then finds DeCori Birmingham in the back of the end zone on a 31-yard TD pass with :09 remaining. The win propels Arkansas, not LSU, into the SEC Championship Game.

Nov. 24, 2006 – LSU 31, Arkansas 26: Darren McFadden scores on an 80-yard run to pull Arkansas within 24-19 of LSU, but Trindon Holliday returns the ensuing kickoff 92 yards for a score. Felix Jones added another TD for Arkansas but LSU’s defense holds, allowing the Tigers to run out the final 1:31. Arkansas finishes first in the SEC West, but it is LSU that winds up in the Sugar Bowl against Notre Dame.

Nov. 23, 2007 – Arkansas 50, LSU 48 (3OT): Working out of the “Wild Hog” formation, McFadden leads the Razorbacks to an upset of No. 1 LSU in Tiger Stadium. McFadden rushes for 206 yards on 32 carries and three TDs and throws for a fourth score. LSU can’t keep the game going in the third overtime, as Matterral Richardson intercepted Matt Flynn’s two-point pass, but the Tigers recover to win the SEC championship and a second BCS national title.

Scott Rabalais: To catch up with Alabama, Tigers must turn the tide in the recruiting battle, especially up front