LSU is on quite the roll.

Houston safety Eric Monroe, ranked No. 1 at his position nationally, and linebacker Rahssan Thornton, a three-star prospect also from Texas, both committed to the Tigers on Wednesday.

They became the seventh and eighth commitments for the Tigers in the last 18 days. Thornton is the second straight Texas linebacker to offer a non-binding, verbal pledge to the school, joining four star linebacker Erick Fowler, who committed last week.

Thornton and Monroe are the 16th and 17th commits to LSU’s 2016. It is now ranked No. 1 in 247Sports’ team rankings.

“It’s just the fact that I always wanted to go there, and I have family there,” Thornton told 247Sports. “I liked the campus and like the coaching staff there. It was just a great fit for me. My whole family is excited about it.”

Thornton’s commitment helps boost the Tigers linebacker depth. Clifton Garrett, a former five star recruit, left the program, the school announced Friday. It left the Tigers with just eight scholarship linebackers on the roster for the 2015 season. LSU will lose, likely, three of those eight after next season.

Thornton, rated as the 34th best weakside defensive end in the nation, is expected to be an outside linebacker for the Tigers as new defensive coordinator Kevin Steele continues to recruit towards a 3-4 scheme.

Thornton had offers from Michigan, Texas and TCU.

Monroe is the No. 15 ranked prospect overall nationally, according to 247Sports. Monroe chose the Tigers over his other finalist, Texas A&M.

2016 LSU commits

  • CB Savion Smith | Bradenton, Florida | 2
  • S Eric Monroe | Houston | 1
  • DT Edwin Alexander | Hammond | 7
  • QB Feleipe Franks | Crawfordville, Fla. | 1
  • WR Dee Anderson | Mesquite, Texas | 11
  • WR Stephen Sullivan | Donaldsonville, La. | 12
  • LB Erick Fowler | Manor, Texas | 6
  • LB Rahssan Thornton | Killeen, Texas | 34
  • OL Donavaughn Campbell | Pontchatoula | 3
  • TE Jamal Pettigrew | New Orleans | 6
  • CB Andraez Williams | Shreveport | 22
  • DT Glenn Logan | Destrehan | 25
  • S Cameron Lewis | Monroe | 14
  • DE Andre Anthony | New Orleans | 27
  • S Clifford Chattman | New Orleans | 31
  • DE Caleb Roddy | Denham Spring | 30
  • OL Jakori Savage | Bay Minette, Ala. | 106
  • <