BR.southalabamalsu.031220 HS 528.JPG

LSU designated hitter Mitchell Sanford (22) and LSU left fielder Gavin Dugas (6) celebrate with LSU first baseman Cade Beloso (24) at home plate after Beloso scored on a solo home run against South Alabama, Wednesday, March 11, 2020, at LSU's Alex Box Stadium in Baton Rouge, La.

Once the Southeastern Conference announced its conference slate Tuesday, LSU released its full 2021 baseball schedule.

The Tigers will play 56 games, maintaining the schedule's normal structure after SEC coaches settled earlier this month on 10 conference series — three games per weekend — and 26 nonconference games. The league ratified schedules once athletic directors approved the plan last week.

Though some conferences changed their formats because of the coronavirus pandemic, the SEC will try to stage a typical season. It also hopes to hold the annual SEC tournament in Hoover, Alabama.

In a news release, LSU said it will send ticket information and Alex Box Stadium seating capacity to season-ticket holders later this week. The school said times and dates could change after the conference decides its television schedule. The SEC said some conference series will begin on Thursdays.

While LSU scheduled its usual number of games and will play every Division I team in Louisiana, the coronavirus pandemic still shaped the process.

The Tigers intended to play Army in a round-robin opening weekend, but coach Paul Mainieri said earlier this month Army’s institutional policies might prevent its team from making the trip. LSU scheduled Louisiana Tech instead.

LSU, which schedules nonconference opponents years in advance, also had a series planned against Illinois. But the Big Ten won’t allow its baseball teams to play nonconference games this season, according to reports from D1Baseball. LSU replaced Illinois with UTSA for its final series before conference games begin.

Last season ended before league play, so the SEC rescheduled every team’s 2020 conference opponents. LSU will play the same SEC teams it was supposed to last spring — Mississippi State, at Tennessee, Vanderbilt, at Kentucky, South Carolina, at Ole Miss, Arkansas, at Auburn, Alabama and at Texas A&M — but at different points than on the 2020 schedule.

See LSU's full 2021 baseball schedule below:

Friday, Feb. 19 — Air Force, 7 p.m.

Saturday, Feb. 20 — Notre Dame, 7 p.m.

Sunday, Feb. 21 — Louisiana Tech, 3 p.m.

Tuesday, Feb. 23 — Southern, 6:30 p.m.

Wednesday, Feb. 24 — at UL, 6 p.m.

Friday, Feb. 26 — UC Riverside, 7 p.m.

Saturday, Feb. 27 — UC Riverside, 3 p.m.

Sunday, Feb. 28 — UC Riverside, 2 p.m.

Wednesday, March 3 — Nicholls State, 6:30 p.m.

Friday, March 5 — Oral Roberts, 7 p.m.

Saturday, March 6 — Oral Roberts, 3 p.m.

Sunday, March 7 — Oral Roberts, 1 p.m.

Tuesday, March 9 — Texas Southern, 6:30 p.m.

Wednesday, March 10 — at UNO, 6:30 p.m.

Friday, March 12 — UTSA, 7 p.m.

Saturday, March 13 — UTSA, 6:30 p.m.

Sunday, March 14 — UTSA, 1 p.m.

Tuesday, March 16 — Southeastern Louisiana, 6:30 p.m.

Friday, March 19 — Mississippi State, 7 p.m.

Saturday, March 20 — Mississippi State, 6:30 p.m.

Sunday, March 21 — Mississippi State, 2 p.m.

Tuesday, March 23 — at Tulane, 6 p.m.

Friday, March 26 — at Tennessee, 5:30 p.m.

LSU sports news in your inbox

If you're a Tiger fan you won't want to miss this newsletter. Sign up today.

Saturday, March 27 — at Tennessee, 5 p.m. 

Sunday, March 28 — at Tennessee, 12 p.m.

Tuesday, March 30 — South Alabama, 6:30 p.m.

Thursday, April 1 — Vanderbilt, 6:30 p.m.

Friday, April 2 — Vanderbilt, 7 p.m.

Sunday, April 3 — Vanderbilt, 2 p.m.

Tuesday, April 6 — McNeese State, 6:30 p.m.

Friday, April 9 — at Kentucky, 5:30 p.m.

Saturday, April 10 — at Kentucky, 1 p.m.

Sunday, April 11 — at Kentucky, 12 p.m.

Tuesday, April 13 — Grambling, 6:30 p.m.

Friday, April 16 — South Carolina, 7 p.m.

Saturday, April 17 — South Carolina, 6:30 p.m.

Sunday, April 18 — South Carolina, 2 p.m.

Tuesday, April 20 — ULM, 6:30 p.m.

Friday, April 23 — at Ole Miss, 6:30 p.m.

Saturday, April 24 — at Ole Miss, 4:00 p.m.

Sunday, April 25 — at Ole Miss, 1:30 p.m.

Friday, April 30 — Arkansas, 7 p.m.

Saturday, May 1 — Arkansas, 6:30 p.m.

Sunday, May 2 — Arkansas, 2 p.m.

Tuesday, May 4 — Southern, 6:30 p.m.

Friday, May 7 — at Auburn, 6 p.m.

Saturday, May 8 — at Auburn, 2 p.m.

Sunday, May 9 — at Auburn, 1 p.m.

Tuesday, May 11 — Louisiana Tech, 6:30 p.m.

Friday, May 14 — Alabama, 7 p.m.

Saturday, May 15 — Alabama, 6:30 p.m.

Sunday, May 16 — Alabama, 2 p.m.

Tuesday, May 18 — Northwestern State, 6:30 p.m.

Thursday, May 20 — at Texas A&M, 6:30 p.m.

Friday, May 21 — at Texas A&M, 6:30 p.m.

Saturday, May 22 — at Texas A&M, 2 p.m.

Email Wilson Alexander at walexander@theadvocate.com