LSU’s Mikiah Brisco named SEC indoor track women’s runner of the year _lowres

Mikiah Brisco

After sweeping the Southeastern Conference titles in the 60-meter dash and 60-meter hurdles and winning the Cliff Harper Trophy as the joint top point scorer at the SEC indoor championships, LSU’s sophomore Mikiah Brisco was honored Monday as the SEC women’s indoor runner of the year.

Brisco tied Tennessee distance runner Chelsea Blaase as the leading point scorer on the women’s side while totaling 20 points to help the Lady Tigers earn a second-place team finish in the meet.

Brisco, a former Baton Rouge High standout, became the first SEC athlete in 24 seasons — since Florida’s Michelle Freeman in 1991 and 1992 — to sweep conference championships in the 60-meter dash and 60-meter hurdles, or 55-meter equivalent, at the SEC indoor meet. She became the first Lady Tiger to win the Cliff Harper Trophy since Kimberlyn Duncan in 2013.

Brisco will compete in both events at the NCAA indoor track and field championships later this week and is among 14 entries for LSU in the indoor season finale running Friday and Saturday in Birmingham, Alabama.

Brisco was among four SEC champions for LSU to earn first-team All-SEC recognition along with event winners Nethaneel Mitchell-Blake (men’s 200-meter dash), Jordan Moore (men’s 60-meter hurdles) and Morgan Schuetz (women’s 800-meter run). Schuetz picked up second-team All-SEC honors as the anchor leg of LSU’s distance medley relay team, which won a silver medal, along with Chanice Chase, Hannah Deworth and Hollie Parker.

Silver and bronze medalists were named second-team All-SEC performers, including LSU’s Daeshon Gordon (women’s 60-meter hurdles). David Collins (weight throw) and Fitzroy Dunkley (400 meters) and junior Jada Martin (200 meters) were also bronze medalists.

Kortnei Johnson (women’s 60-meter dash) was named to the all-freshman team.