Former Landry-Walker football star Keytaon Thompson and LSU sprinter Aleia Hobbs will be recognized as New Orleans' top amateur athletes, headlining the honors handed out at the Greater New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame banquet Aug. 5 in the Mercedes-Benz Superdome.

The Greater New Orleans Sports Awards Committee, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, selects annual award winners in a variety of categories. This year’s Hall of Fame class will be announced this week. The Corbett Awards, which recognize the top male and female amateur athletes in the state, will be unveiled next week.

The other annual award winners: Destrehan basketball coach Angi Butler (outstanding girls prep coach, New Orleans); Edna Karr football coach Brice Brown and De La Salle basketball coach Paul Kelly (co-winners as outstanding boys prep coaches, New Orleans); the Edna Karr football team and Destrehan girls basketball team (outstanding boys and girls prep teams, New Orleans); and LSU gymnastics coach D-D Breaux (the state's outstanding college coach).

Butler directed the Wildcats to the LHSAA Class 5A nonselect state championship. It was the third straight year that the Wildcats made the state semifinals.

Brown, in his second season as coach at his alma mater, led Karr to a 15-0 season and the LHSAA Class 4A nonselect state championship. He was the local nominee for the Don Shula NFL High School Coach of the Year Award.

Kelly, a 1983 De La Salle grad in his fifth season at his alma mater, led the Cavaliers to a 30-4 record and the Division II select state title, the school’s first since 1986. The Cavaliers finished the season on a 16-game winning streak, capping the year with an 81-69 victory over University High.

Hobbs, a product of McMain, was the Southeastern Conference’s outdoor track Runner of the Year as well as the south central region women’s track Athlete of the Year. The junior ran the second-fastest 100 meters in women’s collegiate history at 10.85 seconds (the second-fastest time in the world this year) and anchored LSU’s 4x100 relay team to victory while tying the collegiate record of 42.12 seconds at the SEC Relays.

Thompson, a quarterback, tallied 457 total yards with six touchdowns as he led the Charging Buccaneers to the LHSAA Class 5A nonselect state title with a 50-21 victory over West Monroe. For the season, he completed 198 of 331 passes for 3,825 yards and 46 touchdowns while rushing 152 times for 1,434 yards and 26 TDs.

The Edna Karr football team capped a tremendous season by defeating Neville 34-21 in the 4A state championship game. The victory not only capped a perfect 15-0 season for the Cougars, it also avenged last season’s loss to Neville in the state title game.

The Destrehan girls basketball team finished with a perfect record of 35-0 on the way to the Class 5A state championship as they became the first girls team from the River Parishes to win a state title in basketball. The Lady Wildcats, led by three-time state Player of the Year Cara Ursin, defeated No. 1 seed Barbe 62-57 in the title game.

Breaux was named the National Association of Collegiate Gymnastics Coaches national Coach of the Year after directing LSU to an NCAA runner-up finish for the second straight season.