Seimone Augustus was arguably the greatest women’s basketball player in LSU history.

Now she’s being recognized as one of the greatest in WNBA history as well.

In conjunction with the league’s 20th anniversary, Augustus was named Tuesday to the WNBA’s list of the 20 greatest and most influential players in its history.

Also named to the list was former Louisiana Tech All-American Teresa Witherspoon, who played in the WNBA from 1997-2004.

“The 20 women honored today are an extraordinarily accomplished group both on and off the basketball court,” WNBA President Lisa Borders said in an announcement on ESPN. “On the court, they represent the absolute best in women’s professional basketball and are in so many ways larger than life. Off the court, they represent their teams, hometowns and communities in which they live and work with the utmost professionalism. And most importantly, they represent the hopes and dreams of generations of young girls all over the world – the future of the WNBA.”

Augustus went from being the nation’s top recruit at Capitol High to being a three-time All-American and two-time national player of the year at LSU.

She also led the Lady Tigers to their first three Women’s Final Four appearances from 2004-06.

On the professional level, Augustus has helped the Minnesota Lynx to three WNBA titles since joining the team in 2006, including the 2015 championship. She has also won two Olympic gold medals with Team USA and will pursue a third along with former Lady Tiger and current Minnesota teammate Sylvia Fowles in Rio de Janeiro in August.

Augustus scored a team-high 13 points Tuesday to lead Minnesota to a 72-69 win at Los Angeles in a battle of unbeatens. The Lynx are off to a 13-0 start, the best in WNBA history.

Former LSU coach Van Chancellor, who coached the now defunct Houston Comets to the first four WNBA titles, was a member of the selection committee.

The 20 honorees were selected from a list of 60 nominees by a 15-person committee. They had to have played at least two seasons in the WNBA and met three of seven criteria: the winner of a major individual award; a selection to either the All-WNBA First Team or All-WNBA Second Team; a selection to either the WNBA All-Defensive First Team or WNBA All-Defensive Second Team; a selection to the WNBA All-Star Game; a member of a WNBA Championship team; a current ranking among the top 30 career leaders in at least one major statistical category; and a selection to either the WNBA’s All-Decade Team (voted on in 2006) or the WNBA’s Top 15 Players (voted on in 2011).

Follow Scott Rabalais on Twitter, @RabalaisAdv.