Advocate news services

DALLAS - LSU cornerback Morris Claiborne is a candidate for another postseason honor as the junior is one of 87 players on the watch list for the Bronko Nagurski Trophy, which is awarded annually to the nation’s best defensive player.

The list will be trimmed to five finalists on Nov. 17 with the award to be given on Dec. 12 in Charlotte, N.C.

Claiborne, who is also up for the Bednarik Award, is coming off a 2010 season where he was a second-team All-Southeastern Conference selection. The Shreveport native led the team and ranked fourth in the SEC with 11 passes defended. He also intercepted a team-high five passes, which ranked third in the league.

In 19 career games, Claiborne has notched 44 tackles, six pass breakups and five interceptions.

Former teammate Patrick Peterson was one of three finalists for the award last year. LSU has produced one Nagurski Trophy winner when Glenn Dorsey claimed the honor in 2007.