Derrius Guice, Arden Key

Derrius Guice (left) and Arden Key.

The college football watch list season has finally drawn to a close, with the guarantee that there will be plenty of eyes on LSU tailback Derrius Guice and linebacker Arden Key.

Both were named Friday to the 40-man watch list for the Walter Camp Award, given to college football's player of the year. It's the fourth watch-list honor this summer for Guice and the fifth for Key.

Earlier, Guice, a junior from Catholic High, was named to watch lists for the Maxwell Award (player of the year), the Paul Hornung Award (best all-around player) and the Doak Walker Award (best running back). Key was earlier named to the Maxwell watch list along with the Bednarik Award and Bronko Nagurski Trophy (best defensive player) and the Butkus Award (best linebacker).

The nation’s fourth-oldest college football award, the Walter Camp is voted on by 130 college football coaches and sports information directors.

Six LSU players have been named to 12 watch lists this summer; the others are quarterback Danny Etling, center Will Clapp and cornerbacks Donte Jackson and Kevin Toliver II.

Guice set a single-game LSU record last season with 285 yards rushing against Texas A&M. He led the SEC with 1,387 yards rushing (along with 15 touchdowns) and was second in the conference at 115.6 yards per game.

Key set a school record in 2016 with 12 sacks, along with three fumble recoveries and three pass deflections. Key’s availability to start the season is in question after he underwent offseason shoulder surgery.

LSU opens the season Sept. 2 in Houston against BYU.

Preseason awards watch lists

Bednarik Award: Arden Key and Kevin Toliver II

Maxwell Award: Key and Derrius Guice

Rimington Trophy: Will Clapp

Bronko Nagurski Trophy: Key and Toliver

Outland Trophy: Clapp

Jim Thorpe Award: Donte Jackson

Paul Hornung Award: Guice

Butkus Award: Key

Wuerffel Trophy: Danny Etling

Davey O’Brien Award: Etling

Doak Walker Award: Guice

Walter Camp Award: Guice and Key

Follow Scott Rabalais on Twitter, @RabalaisAdv.​