LSU coach Les Miles suggests Anthony Jennings, Dwayne Thomas won’t miss game time after suspension _lowres

Photo courtesy Michael Bonnette -- LSU coach Les Miles presents cornerback Tre'Davious White with the No. 18 jersey Wednesday night.

Tre’Davious White will trade his No. 16 for 18.

LSU awarded the junior cornerback with the honor of wearing jersey No. 18, the program announced Wednesday night.

Jersey No. 18 is an LSU tradition born in 2003 when quarterback Matt Mauck guided the Tigers to their first national championship since 1958. His number became synonymous with success “as well as a selfless attitude,” the school’s media guide reads.

Mauck passed the jersey to running back Jacob Hester, who helped the Tigers capture the 2007 national title. Each season a Tiger player is voted to wear No. 18, and it has nothing to do with his athletic skills, coach Les Miles said Wednesday.

“It’s a team guy,” Miles said. “Not necessarily the most talented, not necessarily the most gifted athlete. Guy that relates to team, a leader. Not necessarily the most decorated. A guy the training staff, equipment staff, the weight/strength staff all could say he was a tremendous actor.”

White joins this list of players: Richard Dickson (2008, 09), Richard Murphy (2010), Brandon Taylor (2011), Bennie Logan (2012), linebacker Lamin Barrow (2013) and running back Terrence Magee last season.

White was presented the No. 18 jersey during the team’s first meeting of preseason camp on Wednesday night. Practice begins Thursday morning.

The Shreveport native has started in all but two games in his career at LSU. White, a preseason All-SEC second team member, finished last season with 33 tackles and two interceptions and served as the Tigers punt returner, taking one kick for a touchdown.

“He’s an A-B student,” Miles said of White earlier this summer at SEC media days. “He’s bigger, faster, stronger. He’s a shutdown corner. He’s gonna have a great year.”

LSU’s No. 18s

  • 00-03: Matt Mauck
  • 04-07: Jacob Hester
  • 08-09: Richard Dickson
  • 10: Richard Murphy
  • 11: Brandon Taylor
  • 12: Bennie Logan
  • 13: Lamin Barrow
  • 14: Terrence Magee
  • 15: Tre’Davious White
  • <