BR..lsutexasammain.120119 TS 55.jpg

LSU head coach Ed Orgeron marches down Victory Hill with team members before their game against Texas A&M at Tiger Stadium, Saturday, Nov. 30, 2019.

Ed Orgeron received the 2019 Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award on Friday afternoon, giving him four coach of the year honors this season.

Orgeron, who already received Home Depot Coach of the Year, AP Coach of the Year and Southeastern Conference Coach of the Year, will be recognized on Jan. 11 in New Orleans.

The Football Writers Association of America selected the winner. It made the award announcement along with the Sugar Bowl.

Orgeron has led LSU into one of the greatest seasons in school history. The Tigers won the SEC title and captured the No. 1 seed in the College Football Playoff. They will play No. 4 Oklahoma on Dec. 28 in the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl. The winner advances to the national championship.

"Coach Orgeron is an incredibly deserving winner of this prestigious honor," 2019 FWAA President Matt Fortuna said in a statement. "From the ways he has reinvented his program on and off the field, to the bonds he has formed with his players, it is easy to see how he has led LSU to a No. 1 ranking this season. Joe Burrow's Heisman speech alone made me want to run through a brick wall for Coach O."

LSU sports news in your inbox

If you're a Tiger fan you won't want to miss this newsletter. Sign up today.

Orgeron is the third LSU coach to receive the FWAA Coach of the Year Award, joining Paul Dietzel in 1958 and Nick Saban in 2003. LSU won the national championship both years.

The FWAA will give Orgeron a bust of Robinson, who coached at Grambling State for 55 years. Robinson, a member of the College Football Hall of Fame, won 408 career games.

Robinson became the namesake of the award in 1997, the year he retired from coaching. Since then, four SEC coaches have won the honor: Phillip Fulmer at Tennessee in 1998, Saban in 2003, Gus Malzahn at Auburn in 2013 and now Orgeron.

"Coach Ed Orgeron and the LSU Tigers' impressive 13-0 regular season record is a testament to Coach O's relentless leadership and guidance of one of college football's most storied programs," said Robinson's grandson, Eddie Robinson III, in a statement. "Congratulations Coach Orgeron from the Robinson Family on winning the 2019 'Eddie Robinson Award!'"

Email Wilson Alexander at