Former LSU head coach Skip Bertman waves from the field on "Skip Bertman Day" before the Tigers host Alabama, Saturday, May 12, 2018, at LSU's Alex Box Stadium in Baton Rouge, La.

The Omaha World-Herald is asking fans to cast their vote for the most legendary coach in College World Series history.

The paper, through its CWS website, has compiled a list of five candidates for the honorific. They include:

  • Skip Bertman, LSU: Before Bertman arrived in 1984 the Tigers had made one trip to the NCAA Tournament. From 1986-2000 he led LSU to 11 CWS appearances including five national titles (1991, 93, 96, 97, 2000).
  • Rod Dedeaux, Southern California: The New Orleans native coached in a less competitive era but nonetheless led the Trojans to 11 CWS titles, including an unmatched five straight from 1970-74.
  • Augie Garrido, Cal State Fullerton and Texas: The only coach to win CWS titles at two different schools, he won three at Fullerton and two more at Texas. Retired as the winningest coach in college baseball history. Died in March shortly after a visit to Baton Rouge.
  • Mark Marquess, Stanford: Spent 40 years at Sunken Diamond, leading the Cardinal to back-to-back titles in 1987-88 among 14 CWS appearances.
  • Jim Brock, Arizona State: Took the Sun Devils to Omaha 13 times in his 23 seasons, winning two titles and making the finals four other times. Brock died of cancer in 1994 a week after his last CWS trip.

Follow Scott Rabalais on Twitter, @RabalaisAdv.​