Former LSU junior outfielder Mikie Mahtook was named a 2011 first-team All-American Wednesday by Baseball America magazine.

Mahtook is the third LSU player in the past four seasons to earn first-team All-America recognition, joining outfielder/first baseman Blake Dean (2008) and pitcher Louis Coleman (2009).

Mahtook was chosen as the 31st overall selection by the Tampa Bay Rays in the MLB Draft earlier this month.

“This is certainly a well-deserved honor for one of the greatest players in LSU history,” LSU coach Paul Mainieri said. “Mikie is a phenomenal athlete and a very unselfish teammate who does everything on and off the field with the team’s best interest in mind. He’s a very emotional player - I’ve often said he plays baseball like a football player, at 100 miles per hour with his hair on fire.

“I have no doubt he will continue to enjoy great success because of his tremendous talent and work ethic. It’s been a privilege to be his coach. I’ll probably cease to be his coach this summer, but I will continue to be his friend.”

Mahtook, a Lafayette native, was a 2011 first-team all-SEC selection, and he completed the regular season as the conference leader in slugging percentage (.709), walks (41), triples (5) and steals (29). He was No. 2 in the SEC in batting average (.383), home runs (14), total bases (139), on-base percentage (.496) and runs scored (61) and No. 3 in the league in RBI (56).

Mahtook, who was also named to the 2011 SEC all-Defensive Team, batted .441 (26-for-59) in the final 15 games of the season with four doubles, two triples, four homers, 18 RBI, 19 runs and eight steals.

2011 Baseball America All-America Teams

First team

C Mike Zunino, Florida

1B C.J. Cron, Utah

2B Kolten Wong, Hawaii

3B Colin Moran, North Carolina

SS Brad Miller, Clemson

OF Jason Krizan, Dallas Baptist

OF Mikie Mahtook, LSU

OF Victor Roache, Georgia Southern

DH Jake Lowery, James Madison

UT Danny Hultzen, Virginia

SP Trevor Bauer, Ucla

SP Sean Gilmartin, Florida State

SP Taylor Jungmann, Texas

SP Michael Roth, South Carolina

RP Cody Martin, Gonzaga

Second team

C Nick Rickles, Stetson

1B Aaron Westlake, Vanderbilt

2B Tommy La Stella, Coastal Carolina

3B Jason Esposito, Vanderbilt

SS Joe Panik, St. John’s

OF Trever Adams, Creighton

OF Bryson Myles, Stephen F. Austin

OF George Springer, Connecticut

DH Adam Brett Walker, Jacksonville

UT Nick Ramirez, Cal State Fullerton

SP Matt Barnes, Connecticut

SP Grayson Garvin, Vanderbilt

SP Sam Gaviglio, Oregon State

SP Sonny Gray, Vanderbilt

RP Corey Knebel, Texas

Third team

C Tyler Ogle, Oklahoma

1B Christian Walker, South Carolina

2B Dan Paolini, Siena

3B Matt Leeds, College Of Charleston

SS Chad Zurcher, Memphis

OF Daniel Aldrich, Coll. Of Charleston

OF James Ramsey, Florida State

OF Dusty Robinson, Fresno State

DH Joey Demichele, Arizona State

UT Bo Reeder, East Tennessee State

SP Greg Gonzalez, Fresno State

SP Mark Pope, Georgia Tech

SP Matt Summers, Uc Irvine

SP Michael Wacha, Texas A&M

RP Matt Price, South Carolina