OXFORD, Miss. — In LSU’s huge win over Alabama last Saturday, Joe Burrow became only the fourth quarterback in program history to throw for 3,000 yards in a season.

By the end of that game, Burrow had climbed into second place on LSU’s single-season list with 3,198 yards — just 149 yards behind Rohan Davey, who threw for 3,347 yards in 13 games in 2001.

It didn't take long for Burrow to jump Davey in Saturday night's matchup with Ole Miss in Vaught-Hemingway Stadium, which LSU won 58-37.

Burrow surpassed Davey with 1:34 remaining in the first quarter with a 18-yard pass to Ja'Marr Chase. At that point, Burrow had 3,354 yards.

Burrow was far from finished, however, as he wound up throwing for a career-high 489 yards — surpassing the 471 yards he had at Texas on Sept. 7 — to increase his season total to 3,687 yards in just 10 games.

Besides Burrow and Davey, the only other members of the 3,000-yard club are JaMacrus Russell with 3,129 in 2006 and Zach Mettenberger with 3,082 in 2013.

After setting the individual record, Burrow helped LSU establish a school record for single-season passing yards when he connected with Chase for a 22-yard gain on the first play of the next series.

LSU wound up with 489 yards through the air, giving them 3,903 for the season. That shattered the old mark of 3,414 yards set by the 2001 Tigers.

Earlier in the contest, Burrow, playing in just his 23rd career game, moved up another spot on the school’s all-time passing list.

Burrow entered the game in fifth place with 6,092 yards, and, with 77 yards on the Tigers' first possession passed Jamie Howard’s total of 6,158 yards — which he had from 1992-96.

Burrow now has 6,581 career yards, leaving him just 44 yards shy of Russell's 6,625 yards.

Burrow added yet another mark to his growing list of school records when he connected on 17 consecutive pass attempts between the second and third quarters.

That broke the record of 14 set by Chad Loup in 1993 and later tied by Matt Mauck in 2003 and JaMarcus Russell in 2006.

Finally, Burrow had five touchdown passes in his assault on Ole Miss' secondary, extending his single-season school record to 38.

He now has 54 passing touchdowns in his career, which is second in school history ahead of Russell's 52. Tommy Hodson is the record-holder with 69.


3,687 Joe Burrow 2019

3,347 Rohan Davey 2001

3,129 JaMarcus Russell 2006

3,082 Zach Mettenberger 2013

2,894 Joe Burrow 2018

2,825 Matt Mauck 2003

2,655 Tommy Hodson 1989

2,609 Zach Mettenberger 2012

2,542 Jeff Wickersham 1983

2,463 Danny Etling 2017


3,903 (285 comp.-370 atts.) 2019

3,578 (238-411) 2001

3,272 (245-268) 2006

3,263 (205-326) 2013

3,257 (255-401) 2003

Email Sheldon Mickles at smickles@theadvocate.com