LSU’s football season-opener against TCU in the Cowboys Classic in Arlington, Texas, will kickoff at 8 p.m. Saturday, Aug. 31, and be televised nationally by ESPN, the Southeastern Conference announced Tuesday.

It will be the first meeting between the teams since 1968, when the Tigers beat the Horned Frogs 10-7 in Tiger Stadium. LSU is 5-2-1 all-time against TCU.

The TCU game will also be LSU’s third appearance in Cowboys Stadium. The Tigers beat Texas A&M 41-24 in the 2011 Cotton Bowl, then beat Oregon 40-27 to open the 2011 season.

2013 LSU football schedule

Aug. 31: vs. TCU, Arlington, Texas; Sept. 7: Alabama-Birmingham; Sept. 14: Kent State; Sept. 21: Auburn; Sept. 28: at Georgia; Oct. 5: at Mississippi State; Oct. 12: Florida; Oct. 19: at Ole Miss; Oct. 26: Furman; Nov. 9: at Alabama; Nov. 23; Texas A&M; Nov. 30: Arkansas.

Men’s golf

Wright wins Louisiana Classics; LSU team second: In Lafayette, freshman Zach Wright became the third LSU golfer in four seasons to win the individual championship at the Louisiana Classics, wrapping up with a round of 1-under 71 Tuesday for a three-round score of 7-under 209 and a three-shot win at Oakbourne Country Club.

Wright, playing as an individual, joined Andrew Loupe (2010) and Andrew Presley (2012) as champions of the event hosted by Louisiana-Lafayette. Houston’s Curtis Reed finished second.

The 14th-ranked Tigers posted the lowest team score of the tournament Tuesday at 6-under par 282 to climb four spots into second place. Presley shot a 5-under 67, Stewart Jolly 70, and Curtis Thompson 71.

Illinois won the team event with a three-round 2-over 866.

Southeastern Louisiana finished seventh at 899, ULL 10th at 910, and Louisiana Tech 14th at 916. ULL’s Brandt Garon shot 214 to finish fourth.

“Today was a solid day for the team. It was a really good response after our slow start yesterday,” LSU coach Chuck Winstead said. “We just dug too deep a hole yesterday to put any real pressure on Illinois. ... We’re all very happy for Zach. He was impressive with his play this week.”


Final round results

TEAM SCORES (Par 864): 1. Illinois 292-287-287—866; 2. LSU 298-294-282—874; 3. Houston 294-298-284—876; T4. Tulsa 303-287-287—877; T4. Kent State 298-289-290—877; 6. Kansas 292-294-295—881; 7. Southeastern Louisiana 301-288-296—885; 8. South Alabama 298-294-294—886; 9. Memphis 304-298-296—898; 10. Louisiana-Lafayette 305-295-299—899; 11. Texas State 302-304-304—910; 12. Southern Miss 312-301-298—911; 13. Texas-San Antonio 306-310-297—913; 14. Louisiana Tech 303-309-304—916.

TOP 10 INDIVIDUALS (Par 216): 1. Zach Wright*, LSU, 66-72-71—209; 2. Curtis Reed, Houston, 72-72-68—212; 3. Alex Gutesha, Kansas, 69-74-70—213; 4. Brandt Garon, ULL, 73-68-73—214; T5. Chris Gilbert, Kansas, 72-69-74—215; T5. Thomas Pieters, Illinois, 75-72-68—215; T7. Stewart Jolly, LSU, 71-75-70—216; T7. Taylor Pendrith, Kent State, 73-70-73—216; T7. Roman Robledo, Houston, 70-75-71—216; T7. Thomas Perrot, Memphis, 70-72-74—216.

LSU SCORES: 1. Zach Wright* 66-72-71—209; T7. Stewart Jolly 71-75-70—216; T11. Andrew Presley 76-74-67—217; T17. Curtis Thompson 75-73-71—219; T41. Myles Lewis 80-72-74—226; T41. Smylie Kaufman 78-75-73—226; T48. Landon Lyons 76-78-74—228.

* - Player competing as an individual.

SOUTHEASTERN LOUISIANA: T13. Rhys West 72-73-73—218; T17. Eamon Bradley 75-71-73—219; T30. Baptiste Courtachon 77-73-72—222; T59. Grady Brame 79-71-81—231; T69. Nicholas Inderthal 77-79-78—234.

LOUISIANA-LAFAYATTE: 4. Brandt Garon 73-68-73—214; T26. Ethan Savoy 75-74-72—221; T64. Yohann Vora 77-77-78—232; T64. Ross Davis 80-76-76—232; 79. Peter Lamaris 81-78-81—240.

LOUISIANA TECH: T17. Travis Wilmore 74-73-72—219; T59. Victor Lange 76-79-76—231; T59. Sam Forgan 74-79-78—231; T71. Jack Lempke 79-78-78—235; 84. Ben Robinson 91-84-80—255.