Nov. 15, 1958

LSU 7, Mississippi State 6: On a muddy field in Jackson, Miss., No. 1 LSU trails 6-0 in the third quarter when Warren Rabb throws a 5-yard touchdown pass to Red Hendrix on fourth-and-goal. Tommy Davis’ extra point kick is the difference in what would be the closest call for the eventual national champions.

Nov. 15, 1986

LSU 47, Mississippi State 0: In 1984, LSU goes to Starkville with a shot to win the SEC title and loses 16-14. Two years later in Jackson the Tigers leave no doubt. Tommy Hodson throws for 231 yards and two TDs while LSU outgains the Bulldogs 580-214 en route to winning its first SEC championship since 1970.

Oct. 23, 1999

Mississippi State 17, LSU 16: In a controversial ending in Starkville, State fullback Rod Gibson appears to fumble a pass at the 1 but is called down, then scores on fourth-and-goal with 1:39 left. The win allows State to improve to 7-0 for the first time, while helping send Gerry DiNardo packing as LSU’s coach. The Bulldogs haven’t beaten the Tigers since.

Oct. 21, 2000

LSU 45, Mississippi State 38 (OT): Trailing the No. 13 Bulldogs 31-17 entering the fourth quarter, the Tigers rally to force overtime. In the extra period, LaBrandon Toefield scores on a 13-yard run. On fourth-and-2 at the 17, Trev Faulk and Jeremy Lawrence force State quarterback Wayne Madkin out of bounds to end it.

Sept. 26, 2009

LSU 30, Mississippi State 26: Call this win the Chad Jones show. The Tigers’ talented safety runs sideline-to-sideline on a 93-yard third-quarter punt return that ranks as one of LSU’s best ever. Jones then helps preserve the victory by batting down a Tyson Lee pass in the end zone on third-and-goal at the 1 with 1:14 left.

Scott Rabalais