Baltimore Ravens free safety Ed Reed (20) celebrates with the Lombardi Trophy after a 34-31 victory over the San Francisco 49ers in Super Bowl XLVII at the Mercedes-Benz Superdome on Feb. 3, 2013.

ATLANTA — Ed Reed, who went from Destrehan High School to an All-American career with the Miami Hurricanes and then became a perennial Pro Bowler in the NFL, was among 13 people named Monday to the College Football Hall of Fame Class of 2018.

Among those also selected with Louisiana ties were Mack Brown, former head coach at Tulane and LSU’s offensive coordinator in 1982, and Penn State’s Kerry Collins, who briefly quarterbacked the New Orleans Saints in 1998.

The class will be officially inducted Dec. 4 in New York City at the National Football Foundation’s annual awards dinner.

A native of St. Rose, Reed played at Miami from 1998-2001 where he was an All-American selection as a junior and senior. A leader on Miami’s 2001 national championship team, Reed still holds school and Big East records for career interceptions (21) and interception return yards (389).

A first-round draft pick in 2002 by the Baltimore Ravens, Reed was a nine-time Pro Bowl selection in a stellar 11-year NFL career, capped by Baltimore's victory over San Francisco in Super Bowl XLVII on Feb. 3, 2013 at the Mercedes-Benz Superdome. He was named to the NFL All-Decade team of the 2000s.

Brown was 244-122-1 in a 30-year career as a college head coach. That included a three-year stint at Tulane from 1985-87, leading the Green Wave to the 1987 Independence Bowl, the program’s first bowl trip since 1980. Brown was offensive coordinator at LSU in 1982 as the Tigers went to the Orange Bowl, their first major bowl appearance in nine years. He went onto coach at North Carolina and Texas, leading the Longhorns to victory in the 2006 Rose Bowl over Southern California to win the 2005 BCS national championship.

Among those on the ballot but not elected were LSU running back Kevin Faulk, Saints kicker Morten Andersen (an All-American at Michigan State), Tulane wide receiver Marc Zeno, Saints running back Craig “Ironhead” Heyward (Pittsburgh) and former Louisiana Tech coach Maxie Lambright.

The rest of the 2018 class includes: 1997 Heisman Trophy winning defensive back Charles Woodson of Michigan, Georgia Tech wide receiver Calvin Johnson, Rice running back Trevor Cobb, Temple running back Paul Palmer, Nebraska offensive lineman Aaron Taylor, Illinois linebacker Dana Howard, Georgia offensive tackle Matt Stinchcomb, Montana quarterback Dave Dickenson, Virginia Tech coach Frank Beamer and NCAA Division II coaching great Mel Tjeerdsma.

Follow Scott Rabalais on Twitter, @RabalaisAdv.​