Wide field of candidates qualifies for mayoral, City Council races_lowres


Eighteen people filed to run for New Orleans mayor, and another 34 qualified for the seven seats on the New Orleans City Council as qualifying at the Orleans Parish Clerk of Court's office wound down this afternoon.

Among the expected mayoral candidates were a few surprises, including a visual artist who made his announcement via a rap video; a longtime French Quarter sommelier who founded the "Krewe of Cork"; and perennial mayoral candidate Manny Chevrolet Bruno, whose never-out-of-date slogan is "A Troubled Man for Troubled Times."

Several of the council seats have no incumbent running due to term limits, though no seat went uncontested. The race with the fewest entrants is in District C, where incumbent Nadine Ramsey will face off against former District C councilwoman Kristen Gisleson Palmer, who represented C from 2010 to 2014.

The primary election is three months from today - Oct. 14 - while a runoff, if necessary, will be held Nov. 18. Also on the ballot will be state treasurer (seven people qualified), along with several judgeships, Orleans Parish coroner, Orleans Parish assessor, clerk of Criminal District Court and Orleans Parish Sheriff. The only race that attracted no challengers was that of Clerk of Civil District Court, held by Dale Atkins.

As of 4:30 p.m., here were the candidates who had qualified for mayor and City Council and were officially registered with the Louisiana Secretary of State:

[jump] Mayor: Thomas Albert Jr., Charles Anderson, Michael Bagneris, Manny Chevrolet Bruno, Edward Bruski, LaToya Cantrell, Desiree Charbonnet, Byron Stephan Cole, Edwards Collins Sr., Brandon Dorrington, Matthew Hill, Troy Henry, Derrick O’Brien Martin, Frank Scurlock, Johnese Smith, Patrick von Hoorebeek, Tommie Vassel, Hashim Walters

Council At-Large, Div. A: Eldon Delloyd “EL” Anderson, Joseph Bouie, Kenneth Cutno, Helena Moreno

Council At-Large, Div. B: David Baird, Aaron “Ace” Christopher, Jason Coleman, David Gregory Nowak, Jason Williams (incumbent)

Council District A: Joe Giarrusso III, Tilman Hardy, Aylin Maklansky, Daniel “Dan” Ring, Drew Ward, Toyia Washington-Kendrick

Council District B: Jay H. Banks, Eugene Ben-Oluwole, Seth Bloom, Catherine Love, Timothy David Ray, Andre “Action Andre” Strumer

Council District C: Kristin Gisleson Palmer, Nadine Ramsey (incumbent)

Council District D: Belden “Noonie Man” Batiste, Jared Brossett (incumbent), T. “Thad” Cossabone, Joel Jackson

Council District E: Ernest “Freddie” Charbonnet, Alicia Plummer Clivens, Cederick Favaroth, James Gray (incumbent), Dawn Hebert, Cyndi Nguyen