"R.O.S.E. Award" winners

for 2003, as designated by the Friends of the New Orleans Recreation Department, are Gary and Martha Solomon (Outstanding Philanthropist), the National Park Service (Outstanding Leader in Corporate Philanthropy), and Elwood Cahill (Outstanding Board of Trustee). "Recognition of Significant Effort" Awards are bestowed annually for outstanding leadership in parks and recreation.


whose slogan, "Eracism," has become a fixture on New Orleans bumper stickers, was honored by Mayor Ray Nagin, who marked the local nonprofit's 10-year anniversary by proclaiming Nov. 15 "Eracism Day" in New Orleans. Erace works to address and improve race relations in the city, via twice-weekly dialogue groups that meet to discuss relevant social issues.

Local "Stewardship Award" winners

for outstanding community service were recently announced by the Catholic Campaign for Human Development. They are: the Louisiana Bucket Brigade, for clean-air activism and refinery reform; Sister Helen Prejean, for her work toward a moratorium on capital punishment; and the Jim Dunn Center for Anti-Racist Community Organizing, a leadership school for grassroots organizers.

Louis Armstrong International Airport, the Regional Transit Authority, and the Orleans Levee Board

have "disadvantaged business enterprise" programs riddled with abuse and federal violations, says a report by the U.S. Transportation Dept. DBE programs steer work to companies owned by minorities and women. The federal probe said some of the agencies didn't perform required site visits, and also approved businesses that were ineligible for the program -- or weren't even legitimate companies.