NEW ORLEANS (AP) — President Barack Obama has issued a major disaster declaration for Louisiana that allows state and local governments to apply for federal funds to repair damage from Mississippi River flooding earlier this year.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency says Thursday’s disaster declaration covers 15 parishes affected by flooding between April 25 and July 7.

On a cost-sharing basis, government bodies and certain private nonprofit groups can apply for funds to repair or replace damaged buildings, roads, bridges and other structures and pay for debris removal and emergency expenses.

The parishes covered by the declaration are: Assumption, Avoyelles, Concordia, East Carroll, Lafourche, Madison, Point Coupee, St. Charles, St. James, St. Landry, St. Martin, St. Mary, Tensas, Terrebonne and West Feliciana.