Bows and Bowl

“Noir” Beauty

The 53rd annual Debutante Cotillion of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc., New Orleans Alumnae Chapter, took place at the New Orleans Marriott.

“Beauté Noire” was the title, and according to chapter President Pamela M. White, the theme spoke “directly to the unique loveliness of each debutante.” She continued, commenting on the “lovely qualities from within” of the 18 young women.

President White expressed thanks to her sorors; mothers of the queen, each Princesse Royale, princesses, debutantes and sponsors (and their families); event Chairwoman Tracey L. Rollins, Co-chairwomen Daryl Dabon Jarvis and Tina M. Jones; and the entire cotillion committee. More than 1,000 young ladies have been honored as Delta debutantes.

Reigning as the 2017 queen-select was Miss Jade Ivear Peoples, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. William Eugene Peoples, and sponsored by Dr. Catina Green Peoples. She was escorted by John Paul Edward Pierce, son of Mr. and Mrs. Edward Pierce III. Last year, the royal designation was for Miss Kiara Michelle McClue.

Four young women answered to Princesse Royale: Misses Alex Donielle Williams, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Hillary A. Williams Jr., and sponsored by Kenitha A. Grooms-Williams and Alice J. Grooms; Karrington Loren Knight, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Brian M. Knight, and sponsored by Lori L. Knight and Constance Lavigne; Tate Elizabeth Robertson, stepdaughter and daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Darryl R. Thomas, and daughter and stepdaughter of Dr. and Mrs. Corey A. Robertson, and sponsored by Kimberly F. Thomas; and Shana Lee Hill, daughter of the Rev. and Mrs. Duane A. Hill Sr., and sponsored by past President Joy W. Hill. Their respective escorts (and their parents) were Jermance Jamal Webb (Mr. and Mrs. Gerald Brooks), Kyle Abram Jackson (Mr. and Mrs. Jacque Benet Jackson), Tyrone Adams (Mrs. Chandra Rowan Adams and the late Mr. Tyrone Michael Adams Jr.) and Rory Keith Jasper (Mr. Ryan Keith Jasper and Ms. Alaina Lenore Berry).

The two princesses, their parents, and their escorts (and parents) were Misses Paige Alexandria Magee — Mr. Eric Christopher Magee and Ms. Monica Selina Dumas-Magee, and Jonathan Ellis Porter (Mr. Horace Porter III and Mrs. Nia Malika Mitchell); and Deja Chanice Crayton — Mr. and Mrs. Marvin K. Crayton, and Travis John Greenlee (Mr. and Mrs. Thaddeus Jude Greenlee). Yvonne C. Webster and Deonka S. Crayton were the respective sponsors.

Eleven in the “debutante” category enjoyed limelight. Misses Eboné Monet Toria Baker — Mrs. Tonia Muse Baker and the late Mrs. Andrew W. Baker III, and Troy Gaston Brown (Mr. and Mrs. Troy Mark Brown); Mya Tityana Calice — Mr. Marlon Keith Calice and Ms. Kuwana Sanders Calice, and Roderick Wright Jr. (Mr. Roderick Wright Sr. and Ms. LaTanye Black); Jada Michelle Gibson — Mr. Jarvis Lawrence Gibson and Ms. Lequecia KeShawn Dunn, and Richard Eric Johnson (Mr. and Mrs. Eric Johnson); and Angel Leslie Love — Bishop Lester and Pastor Fran Love, and Ethan J. Moore (Mr. and Mrs. Jerome Lee Moore). Courtney Ponson-Renthrope, Dr. Adrian S. Woods, the New Orleans Alumnae, and Tracey L. Rollins sponsored them.

And, Misses Jerricka Ariel McClue — Mr. and Mrs. Gerald D. McClue, and Johnny Williams (Mr. and Mrs. Johnny Williams); Sione Janae Murray — Mr. and Mrs. Stephen Jude Murray, and Kameron Josiah Lewis (Ms. Nicole Blackmon Lewis); Kaitlyn Marie Pittman – Mr. and Mrs. Keith B. Pittman, and Benard T. Johnson Jr. (Mr. and Mrs. Johnson); and Kenedi Ane Reed — Mr. and Mrs. Ronald Andrew Reed Jr., and Erick Lassair Jr. (Mr. and Mrs. Lassair). Ms. Rollins, Vyntrella Menzies Gaitor, Judge Robin D. Pittman and Ms. White were sponsors.

Also, Misses Kyia Antonia Rubin – Mr. Todd Rubin and Ms. Sharonda LeShawn Baham, and Tyrone Banks Jr. (Mr. and Mrs. Banks); Kayla Janae Smith – Mr. Kendell Sheppard and Ms. Chrisey Michelle Smith, and Sheldon Martin Celestine (Mr. and Mrs. Christopher Celestine); and Caitlyn Elizabeth Toregano — Mr. Malcolm and Dr. Blanche Toregano, and Ted Melson Jr. (Mr. and Mrs. Melson). The sponsors were Troye Madison Washington, Vera Chapman Seals and past President Sharon Barnett-Starks.

First, second and third-place Jabberwock Scholarship Awards went, in turn, to Misses Peoples, Williams and Love. More recognition tapped Misses Crayton, Calice and Brown — scholarships; Miss Congeniality, Miss Pittman; Most Cooperative Deb and Escort, Miss Magee and Mr. Adams; and for Community Service, Misses Love and Williams.

Along with Pamela White, chapter officers present were Cherylann Westerfield, Cherrilynne Washington Thomas, Dawn Craft, Valerie Holloman Waller and Roxanne Watts. Past presidents were Cynthia Butler-McIntyre, Carolyn E. Lewis, Pamela Moore Rogers, Patricia Tate Bivins, Gloria Bartley Moultrie, Sharon Cannon and Cheyra Head Jenkins. Program principals were Keva Jones, Terri Mercadel-Luster, Kathy Fields McLeod, Andrea Thomas-Reynolds, Nikita Drummond Clark, Precious Kirk, Wilhemina Hogan Stroughter, Nikia Dillard, and, adding beat to “Beauté,” Chosen Vessel 3D (Kristy Lewis).

Presidential Partying

Prior to the 85th annual Allstate Sugar Bowl, the 2018 Playoff Semifinal, Mr. and Mrs. Stanley J. Cohn hosted the President’s Dinner at Galatoire’s Restaurant. “Cocktail attire” was the dress. The following evening, the SB gala unfolded at the Hyatt Regency’s Empire Ballroom.

While the football teams representing the University of Alabama and Clemson University were preparing to square off on the field for the Allstate Sugar Bowl, university leaders from both schools joined representatives from the Atlantic Coast Conference, the Southeastern Conference, ESPN, and Allstate at Galatoire’s as guests of the Sugar Bowl Committee, led by Allstate Sugar Bowl President Stanley Cohn.

Notables included the hosting Stanley and Jane Cohn, Clemson President Dr. James Clements and Beth, Alabama President Dr. Stuart Bell and Susan, respective Clemson and Alabama directors of athletics Dan Radakovich and Greg Byrne with Marcie and Regina, and, from the Sugar Bowl, President-elect Rod West with Madeline, CEO Paul Hoolahan and Katherine, COO Jeff Hundley and Janine, Vice President Monique Morial with Sandy Leonard, and Treasurer Ralph Capitelli and Linda. G. Charles “Chuck” Lapeyre and T. Carey Wicker III answer to interim secretary and chairman/past president.

Further VIPs were ACC Commissioner John Swofford with Nora, SEC Executive Associate Commissioner Mark Womack, and Allstate Vice President Pam Hollander.

During the cocktail portion of the dinner, they enjoyed passed hors d’oeuvres, while listening to the lively music of the John Eubanks Trio. When the assembly sat to sup, everyone noticed the souvenir medallions at each place with “Allstate Sugar Bowl” in white and red above the familiar Sugar Bowl and “Playoff Semifinal” flanked by the logos of each team on the flip side. The flowers were bright and soft pink roses with greenery, and the menu started with oysters (en brochette and Rockefeller), moved on to preselected filet béarnaise or Gulf fish meuniere amandine, and concluded with a dessert of caramel cup custard. Meanwhile, camaraderie was “served” throughout the entire evening.