The Krewe of Chief Choctaw transformed the grand ballroom and auditorium of the Fredrick J. Sigur Center in Chalmette into the Sacred Tribal Grounds of the Mighty Chief Choctaw on Saturday.

In a gala performance, the chief presented his traditional tableau in celebration of Choctaws’ 81st anniversary and 33rd annual Big Pow Wow. The theme of the ball was “Choctaws’ Alphabet Soup.”

Reigning as Princess Choctaw 2016 was Miss Caitlin Alexis Williamson, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Arthur Williamson.

Maids to her majesty represented letters of the alphabet. They were Misses Brianna Michelle Bladsacker, Cierra Lynn Bradberry, Lydia Abigail LaNasa and Destini De’Quan Riley.

Papooses to the Mighty Chief Choctaw and his Princess were Masters Ethan Wade, Michael Croft, Ernest Mabes IV, Chase Arbourgh and Misses Maddy Roper, Hailey Gatewood, Kali Pellegrin, and Kaitlyn Janus.

Indian Braves to the Mighty Chief Choctaw and guardians of the Great Tribal Tee Pee were Masters Mason Meeks and Zachary Bladsacker.

Portraying the all-knowing, all-seeing Choctaw Medicine Man was Mr. Zachary Daigle-Nastasi.

Portraying the Great Choctaw Chief General Pushmataha was Mr. Charles D. Favrot.

The royal regalia of the chief and his princess were fashioned of imported red silk accented with silver rhinestone braid. The entire ensemble was trimmed with Austrian rhinestone and sequin appliques. They wore traditional Indian headdresses to match their tunic and gown,respectfully, in coordinating colors.

The captain wore an elaborate silver trimmed tunic made of white silk imported from Belize, accented with silver sequins, rhinestone braid and imported Russian rhinestone appliques. He wore a traditional Indian headdress to match the tunic.

The recipient of the Choctaw Distinguished Service Award was Mr. Charles Turberville.

The Recipient of the Godfrey Boudreaux Memorial Award and an Honorary Lifetime membership in the Krewe of Chief Choctaw was Mrs. Dodie Rackley.

The Pow Wow coordinator was the captain. General chairmen were Messrs. Kim Ellingburg and Turberville.

Court Comittee Chairpersons were Mrs. Toni A. Plumer and Mr. Rody J. Landry.

Special UAS assistant to the captain was Mr. Gerald Snowton.

Entertainment was provided by August Rush.