n Vieux Carre Camaraderie

The Vieux Carre Commission Foundation’s “Spirit of the Vieux Carre” Patron Party and Gala took place at Dickie Brennan’s Tableau restaurant. It was hosted by Dickie Brennan, Steve Pettus and Lauren Brennan Brower and provided cuisine from eight restaurants of the Brennan family. First NBC (represented by Ed Marshall and Patrick Jackson) was the presenting sponsor, and from the major sponsors were VCCF founding President Darryl Berger and spouse Louellen, board President Kimberly Rosenberg and Harry, Joe Jaeger, John D. Kirkendoll, and Robert and Chloe Watters.

Nadine Blake and Harry Rosenberg chaired the event that commenced with a patron party. Melissa Gibbs, Juli Miller Hart, Annie Potts (an actor, “Designing Women”) and husband James Hayman (executive producer of “NCIS: New Orleans”) and Deb Shriver formed the committee. Months ago, Deb and husband Jerry entertained at their French Quarter home at a reception in honor of Newell Turner, Hearst Design Group editorial director.

The gala committee included Sydney Anderson, Anne Morse, Peter Moss, Betty Norris, Tee Zimmermann, and the above Kimberly.

At the event, the foundation dedicated the Vieux Carre Commission Design Guidelines to the late Dr. E. Ralph Lupin — accepted by his wife, Pam, and nephew Louis Lupin, attending with spouse Nairne — and honored founding directors Darryl Berger, David A. Dalia, Betty H. Norris, Lary P. Hesdorffer, S. Stewart Farnet (joined by daughter Aimee Siegel and son Clay Farnet), and Bitsie Werlein Mouton.

They, along with Simon Blake, Louis Bartels, Amy Bowman, Terry A. DuFrene, Albert “Blue” Flettrich, Daniel Hammer, Susan H. Maclay, Kathryn Brennan McCleod, Leslie Stokes, Mark S. Wilson, and Ted Young, were mastheaders of the gallivanting that featured the David Torkanowsky Trio and Some Like It Hot Band for the musical ingredients. All backed the foundation’s mission of supporting the VCC, the agency of the city that protects, preserves and maintains the uniqueness of the Vieux Carre.

n Weiss Advice

Seven outstanding community leaders who have been influential in promoting the advancement of social understanding and care were limelighted at the recent 58th annual Weiss Awards event given by the New Orleans Council for Community and Justice (NOCCJ). Take a bow, Robert “Bob” Merrick, CEO and board Chairman, Latter & Blum Companies; Sonia Perez, president, AT & T Louisiana; and M. Cleland Powell III, IberiaBank executive vice president and senior commercial manager. Also, St. Bernard Project co-founders Zack Rosenburg and Liz McCartney, Ochsner Health System President and CEO Warner L. Thomas, and Metro Service Group Inc. co-founder and CEO Jimmie M. Woods Sr.

Edie and Reily Foods Company President and CEO David Darragh were the event chaircouple and for special recognition, the name to know was the Rev. James C. Carter, SJ., of the Emeritus Board

The board’s officers include as Co-Chairmen the Rev. Joseph Doyle, SSJ, and Harry Rosenberg and Cleland Powell, along with Treasurer Mary Jane Becker and Secretary Charles L. Rice Jr. Staff from NOCCJ includes Stephanie Bridges, Nicole Godfrey, Jordan M. Bridges and Elaine Gross. Along with the accolades and dinner was the support for NOCCJ and its “opening minds and bringing people together.”

n Broadway Bound

“Anything Goes on Broadway” marqueed the merriment put on by the Lambeth House Foundation. The eighth annual gala occurred on the Broadway site of Lambeth House and featured food by chef John Joffe, including a seated dinner; a cabaret performance of Cole Porter numbers by Michelle McElree and Brittney James accompanied by Jieun Yun; and a four-item live auction presented by Stephen Moses. Then there were the raffle items. Decorations of gold stars and centerpieces of square vases holding pink flamingoes wearing boas and situated on lime green mesh with candle accents embellished the party premises.

Whitney Bank and Jones Walker figured in the top donor category, Stars, while Producers, Directors and Patrons named scores of supportive co-stars. More than 210 guests made “Goes” their to-go.

Polly J. Thomas and Tim Trapolin (who also designed the invitation) chaired the gala committee that included LH CEO Scott Crabtree with Tammy, Barbara Cain, Rosemarie Coffman, Rabbi Edward Cohn, Robin Crutcher, Elinor Howard, Maureen Huguley, Peggy Laborde with Jack (a former king of Carnival), Chris Martin, Jeanie Perrilliat, Todd Thompson, Virginia Walker, and Bush Wrighton. Most were present, as were Mac Ball, Sarah and George Young, Donna Flower, Claire and Harry Stahel, Linda Perschall, Isabel Sanders, Shannon and Patrick Able, and Susan and Rich Taylor. Proceeds of the gala will benefit the foundation’s Fellowship Fund, a financial assistance program for LH residents who outlive their resources. Smiles abounded for the $75,000 that was raised. As Cole Porter would say, “You’re the Top!”

n Masquerade, Masquerade

The Tradstars’ jazzy sounds, a burlesque performance by Bella Blue, a raffle, a fashion presentation from Pedram Couture and Bonjour Lingerie, and bites and libations (including a specialty absinthe cocktail) provided the festive format for Masquerade given by the Junior Committee of the New Orleans Opera Association.

Noted at the lovely location, the Opera Guild Home, were 2015 NOOA board President Ranney Mize, executive director Timothy Todd Simmons and wife Kathleen Halm Simmons, Junior Committee board Co-Chairwomen Torry Dean (with Dr. Derrick) and Summer Duperon, and Autumn Harrell (with Justin) and Annie Machado (with David) who chaired Masquerade. Also, Helen Killion, Ann Heslin, Alisha and Morris Reed, Tracee Dundas, Alexandra Reisner, and Skarlett Roa.