‘I NEVER SAW A BUTTERFLY’: Mount Carmel Academy will present “I Never Saw a Butterfly” weekends from Oct. 17 through Oct. 25 in the Performing Arts Center at the school, 7027 Milne Blvd., New Orleans.

Performances will begin at 7 p.m. Oct. 17, 23, 24 and 25, and at 2 p.m. Saturday, Oct. 18.

“I Never Saw a Butterfly” is based on a true story of a young girl, Raja, living in the Jewish ghetto of Terezin during the Holocaust. Hope arrives in the form of a teacher, Irena Synkova, who encourages the children to express their feelings through drawings and poems. Two Mount Carmel students— Casey Dawson, of New Orleans, and Melinda Davis, of Metairie — are composing music to underscore the production. For information, contact the school at (504) 288-7626 or kjacobs@mcacubs.org.

SOME ENCHANTED EVENING: The Jewish Community Day School will be the beneficiary of a fundraiser, Some Enchanted Evening, at 5 p.m. Sunday, Oct. 19 at Congregation Shir Chadash, 3747 W. Esplanade Ave., Metairie.

This year’s gala will pay tribute to the founding parents and community members who began the school in 1996.

Honorees are Carol Asher, Barri Bronston, Eddie Bronston, Joel Brown, Heidi Cheirif, Shula Fuchs, George and Laura Fuhrman, Bobby Garon, Edward Gothard, Linda Greenbaum, Cindy Isaacs, Hugo and Lis Kahn, Lee Kansas, Barbara and Mark Kaplinsky, and Richard Katz.

Also, Bob Kutcher, Marilyn Kullman, Saundra Levy, Rabbi Bob and Lynn Loewy, Bill Norman, David and Libbie Reiss, Stephen Sabludowsky, Madilyn and Alvin Samuels, Mark Samuels, Dr. Mark and Charisse Sands, Carol Schiller, Eli Skora, Rabbi Geoffrey Spector, Paul Sterbcow, Lance Turkish, Carol Wise, Marcel Wisznia and, posthumously, Natalie Brown, Rosalie Cohen, Rosalie Levin and Patti Samuels.

The event will feature a live auction, raffle auction and musical entertainment from singing trio Bon Operatit! Dinner will be catered by kosher chef Andy Adelman. A drawing will be held for an NFL football autographed by Drew Brees; tickets for the drawing are $20 at www.jcdsnola.org.

To purchase a ticket or make a donation to the auctions, visit www.jcdsnola.com and click on “2014 Fall Gala.” All funds raised will go to support the JCDS Student Scholarship Fund.

NATIONAL HISTORY DAY: Two students representing John Q. Adams Middle School in Metairie presented their website project, “The Desegregation of the Jefferson Parish School System,” to members of Congress on Sept. 17 as part of the Civics Renewal Network’s Constitution Day in Washington, D.C. Their winning website may be viewed at http://423177577526208989.weebly.com.

Pamela Caceres and Nohemi Lainez received the Best of State award for the project at the 2014 National History Day competition. They completed their work under the direction of teacher Esther Perez-Zemmels.

National History Day is a yearlong academic program in which students in grades 6-12 conduct their own historic research for papers, exhibits, websites, documentaries and public performances. More than 125 students from JPPSS participated in the program in 2014, creating projects with the theme of “Rights and Responsibilities.”

NATIONAL MERIT SEMIFINALISTS: The Jefferson Parish Public School System has 13 students who are semifinalists in the 2014 National Merit Scholarship Program. Semifinalists have scores that are among the best in their state on the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test.

Semifinalists from Haynes Academy for Advanced Studies are Ahmad Abughazleh, Jessica Ding, Connor Frost, Emma Hoss, Elizabeth Reiner and Even Vedros. Semifinalists from Patrick F. Taylor Science & Technology Academy are Quentin Andrus, Colin Bardwell, Zachery Hughes (currently enrolled at East Jefferson High School), Seth Schauble (currently enrolled at East Jefferson High School) and Kayla Tarr. Semifinalists from Thomas Jefferson High School for Advanced Studies are Tram Nguyen and Ryan Vedros.

National Merit Scholarship winners will be announced in February.

NATIONAL ACHIEVEMENT SEMIFINALISTS: Nine students in the Jefferson Parish Public School System have been named as semifinalists in the 2015 National Achievement Scholarship Program.

These students are among the 1,600 black high school seniors who now have the opportunity to compete for National Achievement scholarship awards. Roderick Daniels II is the semifinalist from Helen Cox High School. Semifinalists from the Haynes Academy for Advanced Studies are Darius Hayes and Dennis Stokes. Semifinalists from the Patrick F. Taylor Science & Technology Academy are Edward Johnson and Kristen Stamp. Semifinalists from Thomas Jefferson High School are Erin Boudoin, Amy Conner, Jerron Johnson and Anfernee Murray.

Students are initially considered for the program based on their scores on the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test.

LEADERSHIP GRANT: Anna-Bell Hines, a student at Benjamin Franklin High School in New Orleans, has been awarded a grant to support her social change project, the Louisiana Green Schools Challenge, which is focused on facilitating activities to “green” elementary schools in fun and educational ways.

The ANNpower Project grant is one of 40 provided by ANN INC., the parent company of Ann Taylor and LOFT, and Vital Voices through the ANNpower Vital Voices Initiative, a partnership dedicated to investing in the next generation of female leaders.

ST. EDWARD THE CONFESSOR: The October students of the month at St. Edward the Confessor School in Metairie are Cameron Lane and Ryleigh Juhas, kindergarten; Aubrey Daigrepont and Anh Dao Le, first grade; Peyton Depolitte and Kaitlyn Stremlau, second grade; Madison Taylor and Natalie Sabido, third grade; Max Jones, fourth grade; Grace McDowell and Logan Hammond, fifth grade; Daniel Murphy and Connor Helmke, sixth grade; Chloe Quinette and Abigail McGowan, seventh grade; and Meagan Scuderi, eighth grade.