Fashion Awards Gala highlights key influences on Gulf Coast fashion community _lowres

Ron Carr photo provided by Fashion Week New Orleans -- Ellen Balkin, of the Ogden Museum, Bonnie Broel, Harold Clarke and Robert Hudson at the Fashion Awards Gala

The first Fashion Awards Gala at the Joy Theater marked the finale of Fashion Week New Orleans. Divided into eight categories, the gala honored and shined the spotlight on individuals who have made a significant mark in the Southern fashion industry and have helped shape the local fashion community. It also recognized up-and-coming individuals who continue to carry the torch in building the Gulf Coast fashion industry.

The Fashion Design Award went to Bonnie Broel, of the House of Broel, and the Accessory Design Award went to Mignon Faget. The Trailblazer Award went to LSU fashion design professor Lisa McRoberts, and the Makeup Artist Award went to Robert Hudson.

The Hairstylist Award went to Albert Brown, and the Lifetime Achievement Award went to Harold Clarke. The Institutional Leadership Award went to the Ogden Museum of Southern Art, and the Fashion Week New Orleans Top Designer Award went to Sandyha Garg.

The Model Walk-Off Award went to Alex Corporan.