Crescent City community photo gallery for March 5, 2015 _lowres

Photo by Rick Martin -- Kathleen Hartman, president of the U.S. Aquaculture Society, presents the Douglas Drennan Industry Leadership award to Douglas Drennan's wife and three children in his memory. From left are Hartman, Cathy Drennan, Robert Drennan, Graham Drennan and Elizabeth Drennan.

Douglas Drennan’s contributions to the aquaculture industry will be long remembered through the creation of the Douglas Drennan II Industry Leadership Award by the U.S. Aquaculture Society.

Drennan, a lifelong resident of New Orleans, was president of the U.S. Aquaculture Suppliers Association when he died in July at 52.

The first of the awards named for him was awarded to him posthumously Feb. 20 during the Aquaculture America event in New Orleans. Aquaculture America is the national conference of the U.S. Aquaculture Society, the National Aquaculture Association and the Aquaculture Suppliers Association.

The award will recognize an outstanding person in the aquaculture industry who has both professionally and personally contributed to the aquaculture industry through improving technology, innovation and/or process and who has demonstrated a personal commitment to the aquaculture community, especially students.

In addition, Drennan was presented posthumously a lifetime achievement award.

Drennan was a graduate of Isidore Newman School, the University of New Orleans and Mississippi State University. After receiving a master’s degree from MSU, he worked as the aquaculture specialist for Mississippi Delta Community College and then for the Civil Engineering Aquatics Systems Laboratory at LSU.

In 1995, Drennan founded Aquaculture Systems Technologies LLC. Until his death, Drennan served as managing member and president of Aquaculture Systems Technologies LLC and as general manager of Aquaculture Supply LLC.

An avid hunter and fisher, Drennan was a member of Ducks Unlimited and was extremely active with the Coastal Conservation Association of Louisiana. He was a CCA Executive Committee member, a CCA Louisiana state board member, and he served as the CCA Louisiana Delta Chapter president from 2010 until his death.