St. Martin’s Episcopal School students succeed in academic, sports competitions _lowres

Photo by Wally Porter—The 2014-15 quiz bowl team from St. Martin’s Episcopal School in Metairie was coached by Lee Klebba. From left are Joe DeCorte, Alex Monier, Lee Klebba, team captain Iris Mire, Bryce Monier and Jules France.

The quiz bowl team from St. Martin’s Episcopal School in Metairie won both the division and overall state championships in the 2015 LAAC Prep Quiz Bowl Competition. The Louisiana Association for Academic Competition divides schools into four divisions by size and geographic region throughout the state to facilitate competition. Coached by Lee Klebba, the Quiz Bowl team was led by team captain Iris Mire, Class of 2015, with Joseph DeCorte, ’15; Alex Monier, ’15; Jules France, ’18; and Bryce Monier, ’18. The team went on to compete at the regional competition of the National Quiz Bowl Tournament.

In the State Rally competition, Madelaine Pickens was declared the overall winner for Algebra I. In all, members of St. Martin’s State Rally team earned six first-place certificates, four second-place certificates and a third-place certificate. Connie Munson and Janis McCormick coached the teams.

First-place State Rally winners were Madelaine Pickens, Algebra I; Srihari Korrapati, Calculus; Jessica Pickens, French I; Rico Coleman, Latin I; Gabriella Killett, Spanish I; and Johnathan Glenn, U.S. history.

Second-place State Rally winners were Jun Choi, Algebra II; Iris Mire, English IV; Garrett Kalogiratos, French II; and Curry Cappel, Latin II. Caitlin Bagnetto placed third in world history.

Gigi Herberg got a superior rating in French IV interpretive reading, and Anastasia Campeau received an excellent rating in French IV extemporaneous speaking.

At the Louisiana State Science Olympiad Championships, St. Martin’s Episcopal School’s Division B team earned second place, while the Division C team earned third place. The state championships were held April 18 at Southeastern Louisiana University. The overall medal count for St. Martin’s was one gold, three silver, and four bronze. Warren Lind coached the team.

Members of the Science Olympiad B team, for grades six through nine, were Alexandra Bartholomew, Chloe Bartholomew, Bryce Monier, Collin Shannon, Maansi Solanky, Natalia Bourg, Rico Coleman, Gabriella Killett, Elise Lafleur, Jessica Pickens, Madelaine Pickens, Bharat Solanky, Isabella Bartholomew, Clara Conatser and Hayes Whitney.

Members of the Science Olympiad C team, for grades nine through 12, were Joseph DeCorte, Alexander Monier, Iris Mire, Ashton Harris, Antonio Imbornone, David Miller, Johnathan Glenn, Max Gremillion, Stephen Richards, Caitlin Bagnetto, Jun Choi, Jules France and Bruce Miller.

Also, Ethan Robarts, ’15, and Will Dean, ’15, were named 2015 Scholar Athletes by the Allstate Sugar Bowl Chapter of the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame.