EDIBLE SCHOOLYARD: Edible Schoolyard New Orleans, a program of FirstLine Schools, begins the 2015-16 school year with a $200,000 grant from the W.K. Kellogg Foundation to support its health and wellness activities as well as project expansion in the 2016 and 2017 school years.

“Food is a powerful conduit to bringing people together. ESYNOLA is leveraging this energy to help students learn creatively, while also fostering a love of healthy eating in the community, both of which will lead to a better New Orleans,” said William Buster, director of Mississippi and New Orleans programs at the Kellogg Foundation.

ESYNOLA’s seed-to-table educational programming offers more than 3,900 daytime garden- and kitchen-based academic classes that also nurture students’ social and emotional development.

The grant also will help to improve family engagement activities; harvested food distribution to students and families; and teacher professional development.

In addition, the grant will support staff and program expansion at FirstLine’s two Treme schools, with new garden/culinary exposure and engagement at Phillis Wheatley and Joseph S. Clark Preparatory High School.

NOCCA PIANO: Jonathan Cole, a classical instrumental student at the New Orleans Center for Creative Arts, received the top award in his level at the annual DeBose National Piano Competition on April 25 in Baton Rouge.

Jonathan, an eighth-grader at Audubon Charter School at the time of the competition, studies with Hristo Birbochukov at NOCCA. He competed in the Intermediate-Standard Level II B of the Pre-College Solo Division.

ST. AUGUSTINE DRUM MAJORS: The 2015-16 drum majors for the St. Augustine High School Marching 100 band will be Gerron Coleman, Carnell Carter, Daylen Briant and Marcus Keith.

“The position of drum major in the Marching 100 has a long legacy of service and student leadership,” said Eddie Williams, St. Augustine High School director of bands. “I know these students cherish that tradition and will strive to add to it as they serve.”

Each spring, the drum major candidates undergo a rigorous selection process that includes various components of each candidate’s participation in the band.

This includes, but is not limited to, the candidates’ individual academic performances; their experience in and contributions to the band; their command presence, integrity, respect among their fellow band members; and how they represent St. Augustine High School.

“These young men not only bring a strong background in music and band, but they are also knowledgeable about the tradition and history of the school and the Marching 100,” Principal Sean J. Goodwin said. “They are excellent role models for our entire community.”

Qualified drum major candidates prepare several weeks for tryouts that include a demonstration of basic baton and whistle commands as well as conducting skills. Final candidates must submit an essay and are required to conduct the band in various selections and drills.

The St. Aug Marching 100 is known for its high-stepping style; musical repertoire, ranging from Top 40 hits to classical marching band literature; and cutting-edge choreography.

CYBERSECURITY FOR TEACHERS: Members of the computer science faculty at the University of New Orleans provided two weeks of cybersecurity training to middle school and high school teachers from across the country July 20-31 through the UNO GenCyber program.

The program is funded by the National Security Agency and the National Science Foundation.

The 20 teachers in UNO’s camp are from 12 states; seven teachers are from metropolitan New Orleans.

GenCyber allows teachers to learn about cybersecurity technology, design their own curricula and gain expertise needed to train future generations of cybersecurity experts. The program, including lodging, travel and meals, is free to all participants.

UNO was one of six institutions to host a GenCyber summer camp last year. This year, 43 camps — for both students and teachers — are taking place on 29 college campuses in 18 states. Program organizers expect there to be 200 camps in all 50 states by 2020.

MOUNT CARMEL ACADEMY: A team from Mount Carmel Academy in New Orleans took first place in propaganda during the 2015 Academic Games National Tournament in Orlando, Florida. Members of the team were Mary Margaret Monistere, Regina Lowe, Kristi Williams and Victoria Ladell. Individual winners were Lowe, first in propaganda, and Monistere, second in propaganda.

ARCHBISHOP RUMMEL HIGH SCHOOL: Seniors in the Archbishop Rummel chapters of the National Honor Society and the National Junior Honor Society recently inducted new members.

During the candlelight ceremony, the seniors gave a reflection on the characteristics of NHS membership. The seniors and their reflections are as follows: Jean-Paul Jeunesse, knowledge; Jared Rogers, service; Michael Cobar, scholarship; Oswaldo Infante, character; and Pierce Bonck, leadership. The candle prayer was recited by senior Archie Whelan.

The 26 new members of the National Honor Society are seniors Baron Lebranch and Joseph Rivera; juniors Tyler Braud, Zachary Gorrondona, Reese LaCombe and Tanner Tafaro; and sophomores Adrian Baron-Hyppolite, Alexander Bienvenu, Joshua Bienvenu, Jude Bocage, Nicholas Bourgeois, Joseph Brandenburg, Armand Cox, Armando Fuentes, Luke LaCoste, Brandon Lewis, Justin Lorio, Connor Perret, Mark Pittman, Wayne Roussel, Rees Ryckman, Devin Sauerhoff, Jacob St. Pierre, Evan Thomason, Thomas Vanderbrook and David Verderame.

The 25 newly inducted members of the National Junior Honor Society are freshmen Adam Coignet, Samuel Conners, Nathan Gomez, Donovan Maher, Joseph Nugent, Kyle Roane, Tyler Songy, Glen Thurmond and Jacob Villere; and eighth-graders Ethan Bairnsfather, Gannon Blackledge, Benjamin Browning, Quin Cadella, Michael Chepolis, Hayden Elwell, Jonathan Gennaro, Nathan Gurganus, Luke Hightower, Jacob Martin, Maddux Meariman, Daniel Miller, Daniel O’Leary, Zachary Smith, Blake Tillman and Jordan Wright.

The new members joined these National Honor Society members: seniors Bonck, Cobar, Infante, Jeunesse, Rogers, Whelan, Justin Bonanno, Quinn Dantagnan, Kenneth Derenbecker, Nicholas Dubuc, Justin Evans, Bertrand Hammant, Nicholas Harrington, Jonathan Hart, Christopher Holloway, Adam Karrigan, Matthew Keller, Jacob Kliebert, Joseph McGowan, George McLaughlin, Dylan Mire, Keaton Ott, Timothy Primes, Mason Spillman, Antonio Tejeda, Gage Thomas, Dalton Tujague and Scott Wetzel; juniors Mark Childress, Andres Fuentes, Jayme Haydel, Justin Hieber, Christian Hyde, Nicholas Judge, Conner Killian, Evan Klein, Trey Leblanc, Clay Ledet, Jacob Macaluso, Nicholas Neal and Peter Vu; and freshmen Brandon Champagne, Daniel Cobar, Justin Connor, Gabriel Eberle, Zachary Eilers, Bradley Este, Evan Francioni, Jacob Fury, Ross Incardona, Patrick Meehan, Michael Monistere, Erik Piedy, William Reed and Nicholas Wright.