The Academy of the Sacred Heart hosted its 127th graduation ceremony May 30, 2014, in the courtyard of the St. Charles Avenue school. Diplomas were presented by Timothy M. Burns, headmaster, and Yvonne S. Adler, Upper School head.

Allison MacPhaille was the valedictorian of the class of 2014. She has received numerous awards for academics, including recognition as a National Merit Finalist, National Merit Scholar and as an Advanced Placement Scholar with Distinction. MacPhaille also is a semifinalist in the 2014 U.S. Presidential Scholars Program, one of eight students selected from Louisiana.

MacPhaille is a member of the USA National Acrobatic Gymnastics team and has competed in Switzerland, Portugal and Germany for the U.S., winning three national championships and international gold and bronze medals.

She is the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. James MacPhaille, of New Orleans. She will attend Georgetown University in the fall.

Katherine E. Nelson was the salutatorian of the class of 2014. Her honors and distinctions included being a National Merit Finalist, a National Merit Scholar and serving as Student Council secretary and vice-president of the National Honor Society. She was a member of the National Honor Society and the Honor Council. She also was an AP Scholar.

Nelson is the stepdaughter and daughter of Mr. and Mrs. John Davidson, of New Orleans, and the daughter and stepdaughter of Mr. and Mrs. George Nelson, of Cartersville, Georgia. She will attend Wake Forest University in Winston-Salem, North Carolina, and plans to major in biology.

Graduating with highest honors were:

Caroline E. Brinson, Mary N. Brown, Emily D. Ellis, Nicoline M. Good, Laurie J. Gundlach, Margaret E. Hoefer, Madison C. Mikes, Hélène C. Paxton, Madeleine M. Robért, Nicole R. Rueb, Ellen L. Simon, Jacqueline M. Spangenberg, Megan A. Terral, Mary-Catherine C. Toso, MinHang-Kelly T. Tran and Katherine S. Winsberg.

Graduating with high honors were:

Isabella S. Barré, Elise M. Burk, Lauren E. deBlanc, Haley M. Lightfoot, Magdalena S. McCormack and Madden E. Wilbert.

Graduating with honors were:

Mary D. Acomb, Taylor A. Ben, Caroline F. Bloemer, Mikaela A. Campbell, Emily C. Chatelain, Courtney K. Childs, Remy E. Garofalo, Mary-Helen Jones and Madeline E. Soler.

Also graduating were:

Olivia K. Armanini, Chelsea F. Bader, Catherine L. Barry, Catherine B. Bohn, Elizabeth K. Bradshaw, Sarah A. Celano, Charlotte V. Delery, Maura J. Eagan, Mary E. Garaudy, Mary E. Gundlach, Courtney A. Henry, Chelsea V. James, Victoria L. Jones, Brittany M. Kelly, Nicole C. Milburn, Catherine G. Mills, Sarah E. Moreau, Molly F. Mueller, Estelle R. Paulk, Annelise Prat, Avery N. Scripter and Reagan E. White.