Four renovated classrooms at De La Salle High School have been dedicated to former administrators and faculty members.

Interim president Myles Seghers, ’65, said the idea originated with the late school president, Michael Guillot, who had intended to acknowledge several long-term teachers by naming classrooms for them. When Guillot died after a brief illness in April, the administration chose to include him in the honor; the collaboration room is named for him.

The critical thinking room is named for former De La Salle President William J. Hebert, of Metairie, who created the Science of Chess course for high schools. A math teacher prior to becoming an administrator, Hebert realized the importance of chess as a tool for logical thinking and coached the chess team at the school.

The communications studio is named for Donald J. Stabiler, a longtime English and humanities teacher. He provided sound for many years for La Troupe De La Salle productions.

The publications center is named for Kathleen M. Calder, of Metairie, a former lead teacher in the English department and the Maroon Legend yearbook adviser for 25 years.

“I never expected this honor,” Calder said. “Working with all my dedicated editors and staff members was a challenge and pleasure. Having a room named for me was way beyond my wildest expectations.”