The Valero St. Charles Refinery, in Norco, and Mele Printing, in Covington, were among eight regional winners of state manufacturing awards Tuesday.

“The 2014 Lantern Awards recognize Louisiana-based manufacturers who demonstrate true quality in their work and genuine commitment to their local communities,” said Louisiana Economic Development Secretary Stephen Moret.

Another highlight of the ceremony, held in the Governor’s Mansion, featured the 2013 Louisiana Performance Excellence Award winners recognized by the Louisiana Quality Foundation. This year’s five winners are the Xavier University College of Business, in New Orleans; the Jefferson Business and Career Solutions Center, the Jefferson Community Action Programs and the Louisiana Organ Procurement Association, each based in Jefferson Parish; and R&H Quality Refractory Services, in Sulphur.

Valero won its Lantern Award in the bayou region and Mele Printing in the southeast region.

The other winners are PreSonus Audio Electronics Inc., in Baton Rouge, in the capital region; Omega Protein Inc., in Abbeville, in the Acadiana region; Eclectic Products Inc., in Pineville, in the central region; Sapa Extrusions, in Delhi, in the northeast region; International Paper Co’s Mansfield Mill in the northwest region; and Airmaster Aerator LLC, in DeRidder, in the southwest region.

“With their focus on improvement, growth and innovation, this year’s Lantern Award winners also are helping us position Louisiana as the best state for business investment and job creation,” Moret said.

Winners are selected by the Louisiana Association of Planning and Development Districts, with merit selections of one winner for each of the state’s eight regions. Each business must demonstrate sustainability by remaining in operation at least three years prior to the nomination.

Since LED launched the Lantern Awards in 1979, the program has recognized more than 280 Louisiana manufacturing businesses. LED’s program partners include the Louisiana Industrial Development Executives Association and the Louisiana Quality Foundation.