Walter J. Leger Jr., senior partner in the law firm of Leger & Shaw, was inducted as president of the New Orleans Bar Association’s board of directors.

Other board members are Judy Y. Barrasso, of Barrasso Usdin, president-elect; Christopher K. Ralston, of Phelps Dunbar, vice president; James M. Williams, of Gauthier, Houghtaling & Williams, vice president; Sharonda R. Williams, of the City Attorney’s Office, vice president; Steven J. Lane, of Herman Herman, treasurer; Robert P. Thibeaux, of Sher Garner, secretary; Perry R. Staub Jr., of Taggart Morton, Bar Foundation president; Mark C. Surprenant, of Adams and Reese, past president; Ross M. Molina, of Leake & Anderson, young lawyers chair; Helena N. Henderson, executive director.

Also, Lisa M. Africk, of Burleson LLP; Mark A. Cunningham, of Jones Walker; Brandon E. Davis, of Phelps Dunbar; William B. Gaudet, of Adams and Reese; James C. Gulotta Jr., of Stone Pigman; Paul M. Sterbcow, of Lewis, Kullman, Sterbcow; Joseph P. Tynan, of Montgomery Barnett; Camala E. Capodice, of Irwin Fritchie; Dana M. Douglas, of Liskow & Lewis; Jan M. Hayden, of Baker Donelson, Peter E. Sperling, of Frilot; and Jason P. Waguespack, of Galloway Johnson.

Valerie Lowry has been named senior manager at Wegmann Dazet & Co., an accounting and business consulting firm.

Lowry, a certified public accountant, began her career with Wegmann Dazet in 2000.

Sarah Sugarman and Vance Levesque have been elected co-chairs of the Sierra Club New Orleans Group.

Other officers are Wendy King, secretary; and James Guilbeau, treasurer.

The Louisiana Restaurant Association Education Foundation, a nonprofit philanthropic arm of the Louisiana Restaurant Association, has named as new board members Dave Merchant, of BJ’s Pizza in Alexandria; Paul Rotner, of Acme Oyster House in Metairie; and Rocky Weigand, of Coca-Cola in Harahan.

Officers are Lenny Raymond, of Ben E. Keith, chair; Donna Stephenson, of Atmos Energy in Monroe, vice chair; Peter Sclafani, of Ruffino’s Restaurant in Baton Rouge, secretary/treasurer; and Helen LeBourgeois, of TLC Linen Services in New Orleans, immediate past chair.

Other board members are Dwight Barnes, of Crescent Crown Distributing New Orleans, and Octavio Mantilla, of Besh Restaurant Group in New Orleans.

Ex-officio members are Matt Massey, of Raising Cane’s Chicken Fingers in Lafayette, industry representative; Tony Abadie, of Hilton New Orleans Riverside, LRA chair; Stan Harris, LRA president and chief executive officer; and Alice Glenn, LRAEF executive director.


Jill Roshto has been named chief executive officer of Cancer Services.

She was director of development for the LSU College of Humanities and Social Sciences and previously director of development and marketing at LSU’s Stephenson Entrepreneurship Institute.

Mike Purdom has been named principal at Providence, leading the environmental division.

He was director of environmental service at the engineering and environmental services firm.

The LSU Alumni Association has named Stacey Messina as director of marketing and communications for the association and The Cook Hotel and Conference Center at LSU; Jaclyn Dagro as assistant general manager of The Cook Hotel and Conference Center; Bradley “B.J.” Bellow as assistant director of chapters; Jaclyn Walker as back-office manager/inside sales at The Cook Hotel and Conference Center; and Kelsey David as assistant director of marketing.

Messina was hotel marketing director. Dagro was on the hotel staff as back-office manager/inside sales. Bellow was assistant general manager of The Cook Hotel and Conference Center. Walker was night audit manager at the hotel. David was event sales coordinator for Ruffino’s Catering and assistant to the coordinator of LSU Football Operations.

Cathy Craddock, a licensed real estate agent, has been named director of the residential division at Mike Walker & Associates.

She was broker at Tammy Santangelo of River City Realty of LA. She was a sales agent for commercial and residential real estate.

Patrick Mockler, president of Mockler Beverage Co., has been named to the board of directors of Louisiana Workers’ Compensation Corp.

John McDermott, of Taylor Porter, has been appointed to the Internal Revenue Service Advisory Council, with an assignment to the small business/self-employed sub group.

The Advisory Council reviews existing tax policy and recommends policies, suggests operational improvements, and offers constructive observations regarding current or proposed IRS policies, programs and procedures.


Dr. Rachael Roberts, internal medicine physician with Women’s & Children’s Hospital, was appointed president of the Lafayette Parish Medical Society.

Other officers are Dr. Jason Shumadine, vice president, and Dr. Larry Simon, secretary/treasurer.