De La Salle Student Council Ben Calico.jpg

Attending a recent Louisiana Association of Student Councils convention at Hannan High School from De La Salle High School are, first row from left, new district president Ben Calico, Brandon Blackwell, Alexis Bonura, Gabbie Nuccio, faculty chaperone Gabby Bethancourt, Savannah Dominique, Emily Wesley and Gustavo De Paiva; and second row, Student Council moderator Justin Martineau.

Ben Calico, a junior at De La Salle High School in New Orleans, has been elected district president of the Louisiana Association of Student Councils. As district president, his responsibilities include organizing a district leadership workshop, promoting attendance at LASC conventions and summer workshops, and sending a monthly newsletter to the schools in the district.