The commencement ceremony for the Archbishop Chapelle High School Class of 2017 was May 19 at the Saenger Theatre in New Orleans.

The valedictorians of the Class of 2017 are Sarah Jane Aleman, Kellie Lynn Constantine, Francesca Rose DeVille, Teresa Ann LaCour and Margaret Grace Shepherd.

  • Aleman, daughter of Ray and Lori Aleman, of Metairie, was captain of the Hi-Stepper dance team, secretary of the National Honor Society and treasurer of Mu Alpha Theta. She will be attending Tulane University in the fall, with double majors in cell and molecular biology and neuroscience in preparation for medical school.
  • Constantine, daughter of George Constantine and Kathy Woodruff, of Metairie, earned Outstanding Student Awards in world geography, computer apps, English II Honors, Spanish II Honors, Biology II and Advanced Placement Government and Politics. She will be attending Louisiana State University in the fall, majoring in sociology in preparation for law school.
  • DeVille, daughter of Barry and Shari DeVille, of Kenner, was junior and senior class president and president of the National Honor Society and Mu Alpha Theta. She will be attending Louisiana State University in the fall, majoring in kinesiology in preparation for medical school.
  • LaCour, daughter of Gregory and Yvette LaCour, of Metairie, also received the 2017 Archbishop Placide Louis Chapelle Outstanding Graduate Award in recognition of her spiritual, academic, and social leadership during all of her years at Chapelle. She had been named the Outstanding Catholic Student of the Year for the Class of 2017 during the Baccalaureate Mass the previous day. She was Chapelle's 12th-grade student of the year and won the Matthew 25 Service Award and Scholar Athlete Award. She was president of the Chorale and a volunteer music minister at St. Clement of Rome Parish. She will be attending the University of Dallas in the fall, majoring in theology.
  • Shepherd, daughter of Dean and Kelly Shepherd, of Kenner, was president of the Junior Beta Club, treasurer of the senior class, captain of the Chapellette dance team, and dancer of the year at the Martha Mayer School of Dance. She will be attending the University of Louisiana at Lafayette in the fall, majoring in kinesiology.

Principal Leila Benoit presented Emerald Awards for excellence in certain subjects to the following students: Teresa Ann Firmin, art; Ashley Marie Livaccari, athletics; Kate Montgomery Lorio, English; Francesca Rose DeVille, foreign language; Sarah Jane Aleman, mathematics; Rachel Abigail Mata, music; Madison Elizabeth Villa, religion; Teresa Ann LaCour, science; and Kate Montgomery Lorio, social studies.

The members of the Archbishop Chapelle High School Class of 2017 are:

Summa cum laude: Sarah J. Aleman, Kellie L. Constantine, Francesca R. DeVille, Teresa A. LaCour, Margaret G. Shepherd, Ashley M. Livaccari, Erin L. Nash, Lindsey E. Tizzard, Victoria T. Vu and Alli R. Perilloux.

Magna cum laude: Kate M. Lorio, Rachel A. Mata, Bailey C. A. Guidry, Ayesha Tabassum, Melissa A. Bosco, Patricia B. Zahn and Jamie L. Silcio.

Cum laude: Mary C. Poirier, Ainsley M. Frazier, Hannah M. Glynn, Amber C. Nillen, Paola A. Tejeda, Sarah E. Waguespack, Kerri L. Wetzel, Daisy M. Esquivel, Devin G. Reinoso, Madison M. Sedlock, Beatriz F. Coelho, Lauren T. Tra, Desireé C. Galliano, Jessica M. Moran, Emily C. Totaro, Ziwei Wei, Samantha Sánchez-Padrón, Islam Nassar, Amber L. Dupuis, Sydney N. Forsythe,

Lynsey C. Giardina, Michelle E. Lee, Abby L. DeRoche, Sofia A. Murillo, Lexi M. Kiefer, Victoria J. Piazza, Rachel C. Brown, Carley M. Pigeon, Sarah C. Bernoudy, Jennie E. Echelard, Haileé J. Blount, Nina M. Fernandez, Teresa A. Firmin, Gabriela N. Jerez, Jenna R. Pepiton, Alyssa O. Leal, Ty’Ray A. Ray, Elizabeth L. Caldwell, Iranna D. Charles, Megan G. Siguenza,

Haley E. Glazner, Kayla P. Small, Tayler M. Lewis, Katelyn B. Magri, Brittany M. Bedran, Victoria E. Vidrine, Andrea M. Convit, Nour N. Maalouli, Kennedy C. Roberts, Breanna E. Battles, Kaitlyn R. Kain, Elizabeth A. Martell, Jade E. Willoz, Madison C. LaCoste, Victoria L. Shields, Minh A. Pham, Carly M. Pelaez, Grace T. Young and Phuong A. Pham.

Other graduates: Katie D. Albaral, Ava V. Arcemont, Java M. August, Cassidy M. Betz, Alyson N. Bienvenu, Rachael F. Brown, Jordan A. Budde, Hillary E. Chandler, Haajira M. Cheema, Rachel R. Chimeno, Ally B. Choppin, Courtney M. Cochran, MacKenzie C. Cox, Ashlyn R. Duvall, Jessica L. Eppling, Tahjanaé D. Girod, Lauren E. Glaser, Emily J. Godoy, Josselin A. Gomez, Emily K. Gray,

Katelyn M. Haag, Jamie E. Hanzo, Elizabeth C. Hattier, Madelyn A. Haygood, Marie A. Indenhoek, Jaszmin A. Jasper, Destinee O. Jeanpiere, Jade A. Kane, Sarah E. Lambert, Emily J. Langlois, Elizabeth A. Laurich, Tyla L. Legette, Lauren A. Lemoine, Samantha G. Leslie, Brooke E. Lombard, Madeline E. Matherne, Katie A. McKenzie, Karli D. Mehrtens, Kelli L. Mejia, Allison M. Montero,

Madysen L. Norra, Callie A. O’Brien, Lydia M. Odenwald, Jacqueline M. Palacio, Rachel D. Paternostro, Cortney N. Pritchett, Shayla T. Rivera, Isabel M. Rodgers, Kengy P. Rosales, Rosa A. Sanchez, Alissa M. Thibodeaux, Kaitlyn A. Thibodeaux, Julia M. Trainor, Madison E. Villa, Cayman E. Watson, Lainee L. Yen, Lila C. Young and Sarah J. Zimmer-Hobbs.