The East St. Tammany Chamber of Commerce is accepting nominations through Aug. 28 for the Athena Leadership Award, which recognizes women, and the mentorship of women, in both business and community affairs. Nomination forms are available at

The criteria for nomination are:

  • Excellence, creativity and initiative in their business or profession
  • Service to improve the lives of others in their community
  • Active assistance for women in achieving their full leadership potential.

Mail entries to 1808 Front St., Slidell, LA 70458.

A reception for all Athena nominees will be held Sept. 15 in Slidell. All nominees and the 2014 Athena Leadership Award winner will be honored at the Oct. 8 Second Wednesday Chamber luncheon.

For details on the Athena program or to make reservations for the Oct. 8 luncheon, call the Chamber office at (985) 643-5678 or contact JoBeth Kavanaugh at or (985) 643-5678.

The 2013 Athena Leadership Award winner was Slidell Councilwoman Kim Harbison. Former recipients are Tara Ingram Hunter, Sharron Newton, Sylvia Black, Mary DuBuisson, Brenda Case, Jeanne Reeves, Irma Cry, the late Pearl Williams, Lydia Alford, Suzanne Parsons Stymiest, Joan Archer, Stephanie Schedler, the late Marilyn Faust, Judy Wood, Patricia Hedges, Gilda Perkins and Carol Wolfram.