UNO professor wins Islamic finance prize

University of New Orleans finance professor M. Kabir Hassan has won the IDB Prize in Islamic Banking & Finance from the Islamic Development Bank, the development bank of the Muslim world.

The prize is awarded for outstanding merit in the fields of Islamic economics, banking and finance. Hassan will receive an award of about $47,000.

He will be presented with the prize at the IDB board of governors’ annual meeting May 15-19 in Jakarta, Indonesia, where he will also deliver a lecture on his research in Islamic finance.

Hassan is the Hibernia professor of economics and finance and Bank One professor in business in the Department of Economics and Finance at UNO.

His research focuses on the need for empirical tests of the effectiveness of the Islamic finance and economic model on an international scale. The Islamic model strives to promote growth similar to that under conventional or Western models while also aiming to adhere to Islamic religious and ethical standards.

Hassan’s research looks at whether the Islamic economic system hinders access to economic growth and prosperity or if it advances a long-term model of economic growth and fairness.

Hassan earned his Ph.D. in finance from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln. He serves as the editor or co-editor of several international financial journals and provides consulting services to banks, governments, private organizations and universities around the world.

Delgado professor wins LCTCS fellowship

Mark McLean, of Delgado Community College, was selected as the winner of the first Louisiana Community and Technical College System President’s Faculty Fellowship award this month. He was recognized at the LCTCS annual conference in Baton Rouge.

McLean is an assistant professor at Delgado’s West Bank Campus in Algiers, teaching courses in project management, business communication, principles of management and human resource management. He has been a Delgado faculty member since 2009.

“I accept the award on behalf of all the faculty who are working very hard to make a difference every day, just like me,” McLean said. “Let’s keep impacting student lives and building the workforce of tomorrow!”

The President’s Faculty Fellowship provides opportunities for LCTCS faculty to prepare themselves for top-level management and instructional positions within the system. It provides financial support to those in pursuit of doctoral degrees.

McLean is pursuing a Ph.D. in human capital development at the University of Southern Mississippi.

The fellowship will be awarded annually to an outstanding LCTCS educator. The award includes a grant of $8,500.

UNO graduate students win petroleum prize

A team of University of New Orleans graduate students won the 2016 Gulf Coast Regional Imperial Barrel Award in Houston for the second straight year and will advance to the international finals in June. It’s the first time that a team has claimed back-to-back Gulf Coast titles in the nine-year history of the event.

The Imperial Barrel program, organized by the American Association of Petroleum Geologists, pits geosciences teams from universities around the world against each other in a competition to analyze an oil and gas reservoir.

UNO’s team beat out 11 regional competitors including Texas A&M, Rice, the University of Houston, Tulane, the University of Alabama and the University of Louisiana at Lafayette.

The team members are Ryan Jones, Zexuan Wang, Will Morrison, team leader Josiah Hulsey and Celeste Woock. The faculty adviser is Royhan Gani, an associate professor of earth and environmental sciences, assisted by industry mentors Toby Roesler, of Stone Energy, and Benjamin Kirkland, of Nexen Petroleum.

The $3,000 prize will go toward scholarships in the Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences.

In the regional competition, teams analyze a dataset for eight weeks and deliver their results in a 25-minute presentation to a panel of industry experts.

UNO is one of 12 regional winners that will participate in the international competition in Calgary, Alberta, on June 17-18.