UNO professor elected association president

University of New Orleans professor John Kiefer was elected president of the Southeastern Conference for Public Administration on Oct. 15 at its annual membership meeting in Raleigh, North Carolina.

He will serve one year as president-elect and take over duties as president next year at the annual conference in Miami, the group announced.

Kiefer is the director of UNO’s nationally ranked and professionally accredited master of public administration program.

UNO adjunct faculty member Alessandra Jerolleman was elected to the group's board of directors at its annual meeting. She will serve a two-year term.

Kiefer also is a professor in the UNO department of political science and a faculty associate at the Center for Hazards Assessment, Response and Technology, UNO’s applied hazards research center.

He implemented the hazard policy specialization within UNO’s master of public administration program and teaches courses in hazard policy and administration as well as program evaluation.

Kiefer is a past chairman of the American Society for Public Administration’s Section on Emergency and Crisis Management. Before coming to UNO, he was a research professor at Old Dominion University in Virginia. He is a retired U.S. Marine Corps officer.

The Southeastern Conference for Public Administration, the largest regional professional association for public administrators, provides opportunities for scholarly and practice-based exchanges, professional networking and leadership development.

Loyola newspaper wins national awards

Loyola University's student-run newspaper, The Maroon, has won five national awards from the College Media Association.

The announcement came one week after the paper earned top marks from the Associated College Press.

The College Media Association announced its Pinnacle awards in Atlanta. Five awards were earned by four Loyola students.

Colleen Dulle and Mary Graci earned second place for best mobile app, while Kadija Aziz won second place for best rate card.

Naasha Dotiwala earned third place for best front page design, second place for best news page or spread and second place for best opinion or editorial page design.

The Pinnacle Awards honor both the best college media organizations and individual work by students. The contest is open to student work produced for any college media organization, including print, broadcast and online outlets, during an academic year.

These awards will be added to the Loyola School of Mass Communication’s award vault, which has collected more than 150 awards in the last two years, including a national Pacemaker Award, considered the “Pulitzer Prize of college journalism.”

Journalism and strategic communications students at Loyola learn from professors with experience in journalism, advertising and public relations. In The Maroon’s newsroom and the Shawn M. Donnelley Center for Nonprofit Communications, they build skills using technology used across the communications industry.

Charity Nursing School alumni donate match

The Charity Hospital School of Nursing Alumni Association has donated $25,000 as the private match for two endowed scholarship funds for nursing students at the Delgado Community College Charity School of Nursing, school officials announced.

This private match will be used to apply for a $20,000 public match from the Louisiana Board of Regents Support Fund, which has a matching program for endowed scholarships for nursing.

Altogether, there will be $45,000 in endowed funds.

The two endowed scholarships will be known as the Leona Kruebbe Hilbert and Dr. Gerard Hilbert Charity Alumni Scholarship and the Hugh and Maria Garcia Roach Charity Alumni Scholarship.

Follow Della Hasselle on Twitter, @dellahasselle.