The first day of qualifying for judicial races in Jefferson Parish for the Nov. 4 election saw the expected rush of incumbent judges in the 24th Judicial District Court declare their intention to seek reelection.

As of 1:30 p.m., 14 of the 16 sitting judges had filed to qualify, while the two seats with outgoing judges – those of Ross LaDart and Robert Pitre – had attracted hopefuls.

In LaDart’s Division O, three Republicans — Thomas P. Anzelmo Jr. of Marrero, John E. Sudderth of River Ridge and Danyelle Taylor of Westwego — had filed to qualify.

In Pitre’s Division G, Adrian Adams, a Democrat from Harvey, Theresa “Terri” Miles, “no party” from Marrero, and Angel Varnado, a Democrat from Gretna, filed to qualify.

As for the rest of the bench, incumbent judges John Molaison, Stephen Grefer, Henry Sullivan Jr., Raymond Steib Jr., Cornelius Regan, Scott Schlegel, Michael Mentz, Glenn Ansardi, Nancy Miller, Ellen Kovach, Donald Rowan Jr., Stephen Enright, June Berry Darensburg and Lee Faulkner Jr. had filed to qualify by early afternoon and had no challengers.

Similarly, Jefferson Parish District Attorney Paul Connick filed and had no challengers.

Jefferson’s three juvenile court judges, Ann Murry Keller, Andrea Price Janzen and Barron Burmaster, also had all filed to qualify without opposition.

The first day of qualifying continues until 4:30, with the entire three-day process closing out on Friday.