Tuesday, August 21, 2018

The Advocate often does a credible or better job of directing its readers' attention to relevant national/world news items. Together with daily publication, that helps retain subscribers. So one must ask why you make an exception to this policy in…

Monday, August 20, 2018
Monday, August 20, 2018
Sunday, August 19, 2018
Sunday, August 19, 2018

I read with great interest an article in The New York Times that addressed the issue of what to do with the public spaces vacated by the removal of statues in the South commemorating Civil War Generals and elected officials. In almost every respec…

Friday, August 17, 2018
Friday, August 17, 2018
Thursday, August 16, 2018
Wednesday, August 15, 2018
Tuesday, August 14, 2018
Tuesday, August 14, 2018
Monday, August 13, 2018

When I was a kid in the 1960s and 1970s, I used to steal my mother’s cigarettes. Not to sneak a smoke, but to hide them. Yet neither my thievery nor my pestering worked. As much as she tried to quit smoking, she never could — even during the 17-ye…

Sunday, August 12, 2018

The best members of the legislative and executive branches of our federal government have always managed to keep an eye on the Constitution while disagreeing and compromising for our well-being. They succeeded to the extent that the United States …

Friday, August 10, 2018
Thursday, August 09, 2018
Wednesday, August 08, 2018
Tuesday, August 07, 2018
Monday, August 06, 2018
Sunday, August 05, 2018
Friday, August 03, 2018
Thursday, August 02, 2018
Wednesday, August 01, 2018
Tuesday, July 31, 2018
Monday, July 30, 2018